English Pie Crusts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I was in a hurry when I made this, and I halved it. I also did not pay attention to the directions and in my infinite wisdom decided to put it in the food processor. My suggestion would be to not do those things. I ended up adding flour bc I messed it up so much, which ended up with a really flaky and floury crust I could only press into my quiche pan. It worked okay, and no one but me knew I messed it up, but take note and try not to do what I did. I'm definitely not marking this recipe down for my mistakes, but I'll try it again--as directed--to see what I think then. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
A bit of salt will help it brown. About a teaspoon should be right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomanycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
i was going to reserve judgement until after i ate this but this was the worst pie crust mess i ever had...and that was without adding the water. way too much shortening. i had to add at least another cup of flour and then doctor it up so ended up with twice as much (hopefully salvageable) pie crust than i needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This has always been my "Idiot Proof" pie crust recipe that I originally got out of a Peg Bracken book and also from a magazine where it was called Grama Rose's pie crust. My version has always been 1/2 as much water as lard/shortening/butter combo,and 1/2 as much lard/shortening/butter combo as flour. Could it be any easier? Easy to roll out and can be chilled or frozen. Used and approved by Sue in Kanada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This is the same recipe that my grandma has been using for years. Good tip -chilling the dough makes it a lot easier to work with, but you can roll it right away if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I used half lard & half butter - it came out flaky, tender and yummy. It was a little difficult to work with, but I think that is my peoblem with pie crust in general, and not necessarily the recipe. I would definately make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I have made my pie crust this way for years, except my formula was also half as much water as shortening. If it's too "wet" you can always add a little more flour. Too dry, add more water. I also add just a pinch of salt mixed in with the flour. Have always gotten compliments for my pie crusts. Grandma used to use lard, but I've always just used white shortening. Also, I never chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Really good, makes nice pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.
Living In: Ryde, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
dough was hard to knead. fell apart whenever touched. and was impossible to get thin enough for pie. i definitely will not be going through that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States