English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
My english muffins came out great except the interior texture of the muffin was more the consistancy of a bagel rather than an english muffin. The inside was more dense and did not have the "holes" an english muffin has. The flavor was very good though. Due to having to take my daughter somewhere, I cooked part of the muffins after a 30 minute final rise and the rest of them after an hour rise and the ones which were allowed to rise longer were nicer and bigger. Delicious toasted and topped with cream cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
These are awesome english muffins. The recipe can be easily converted to vegan (I used almond milk and saffola.) It's easy to make and the whole family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
My husband and I were very impressed with this recipe! I did have to alter the cooking of the dough: low heat for about 8 min. on each side, and frequently turning them to brown evenly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Fantastic! I love english muffins and I love these better than any I've ever bought. Thank you so much, I've added these to my recipe box and my collection of favorites. I'll be hard pressed to buy store bought again. :o) :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
what a treat these were! the kids gobbled them up fast and they are picky! I enjoyed them myself as well...just a bit confused though about the sugar (when to add, since it is mentioned twice. I added it with the shortening and milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
These are wonderful!! I found them very easy to make. Made them early in the am, and by lunch my family had eaten half of them....got about 20 from the recipe. I froze the rest and they held up very well. I will certainly use this many times. Thank you so very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This truly are better than store bought. Well worth your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I love these! The yeast will proof faster if you add the sugar to the water/yeast mixture, but I've made it both ways and it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
this is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Extremely yummy! They were all gone in a day and a half. I wonder what they would be like if you substituted honey or molasses for the sugar? I'm going to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States