English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
these were very delicious and my family ate each and every one of them. i agree that these muffins are better than any store bought brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
These were very tasty. They are best would cooked slowly. It takes time but the English Muffins are delicious. They keep well for about a week and toast well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
When you can't get English Muffins or even when you can, this is a great recipe. My Husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
I am still in the process of making this recipe. However, I do have a question. The recipe states to add the sugar to the shortening and milk. It also says to add the sugar to the yeast and water mixer. I have added the sugar to the milk mixture for ease in dissolving the sugar. The dough has risen beautifully and the muffins are rising before cooking. It seems funny to 'bake' the muffins in the frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
These are awesome english muffins. The recipe can be easily converted to vegan (I used almond milk and saffola.) It's easy to make and the whole family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
this is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
what a treat these were! the kids gobbled them up fast and they are picky! I enjoyed them myself as well...just a bit confused though about the sugar (when to add, since it is mentioned twice. I added it with the shortening and milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
My english muffins came out great except the interior texture of the muffin was more the consistancy of a bagel rather than an english muffin. The inside was more dense and did not have the "holes" an english muffin has. The flavor was very good though. Due to having to take my daughter somewhere, I cooked part of the muffins after a 30 minute final rise and the rest of them after an hour rise and the ones which were allowed to rise longer were nicer and bigger. Delicious toasted and topped with cream cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
This truly are better than store bought. Well worth your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
I love these! The yeast will proof faster if you add the sugar to the water/yeast mixture, but I've made it both ways and it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States