English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Really delicious! I listened to other reviewers and let them rise for an hour the second time. I cut out 14 muffins, and had a lot of dough left over, so I made a loaf of English Muffin bread, it is great! I had to brown them on the stove and finish them in the oven, the outsides were browning before the insides were done. But very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Miminal handling is key to getting a nice, fluffy muffin. That said, try to avoid doing what I did. Namely, placing the cut rounds of dough too close together for the 2nd rising. Mine grew together just enough so that I had to pull them apart to place them in the pan. Pulling caused some of the rounds of dough to lose a bit of air. (Live and learn.) Anyway, this is a great recipe, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunsWithScissors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Good recipe, but I would cook it at a lower temp for less time. I did have to make some substitutions, but it still turned out well. First time I've made them at home, and I'm pretty satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limington, Maine, USA
Living In: Gorham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wow these slapped Thomas in his nooks and crannies. So good these will be a standard make every other week for breakfast or lunch or snack idea around here. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My dear LindaPinda, your recipe is a life-saver. My husband and I moved to Bolivia to retire, and as fabulous as this country is, alas, there are no English muffins. I made your recipe, completely unaltered, and the results were spectacular! Eggs Benedict, here we come! Thank you for sharing your timeless recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Excellent muffins! Lighter and more tender than store-bought (even though I used a sourdough starter w/ bread flour for about 1/2 of the total, rather than packaged yeast + AP flour), but still with the satisfying chew you want. 10 mins/side was a tad long on my griddle @ 300 degs. I'll cut back to 9 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
So good and soo easy, who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Oh my goodness. These are the best English muffins I've had. They're super soft, hint of sweet, just perfect. They earned their place in my cookery book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Assen, Drenthe, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
These English muffins are fun and easy to make. I no longer buy them at the store now that I know how. I use white whole wheat flour when I make them, plus, I often use buttermilk. I just like the tanginess it gives. The white whole wheat is mild, yet a lot healthier than refined white flour, and my kids love it. One of these days I'm going to experiment and make a sourdough version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My first try on these worked okay, but not super. My husband liked them a lot and gives them a 5 star rating. They didn't really have nooks and crannies, but the taste was great. I think I rolled them out too much. I'll try barely rolling them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States