English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Mine didn't turn out dense at all! They were beautifully fluffy and soft with nooks and crannies. I did bake them, not pan fry... I just don't have the time to tend to the fire/pan. My husband is over the moon - he hates the 'freezer burn' taste of the store-bought kind. Oh yes, I did use butter instead of shortening cuz that's all I had on hand. The aroma is beautifully buttery and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I loved them. I'm living overseas, making it hard to find certain foods. So, I gave it a try, and they are just like the ones I bought in the US. Someone commented that it's much easier to bake them...I totally agree. I baked half and fried half. The baked ones turned out nice and it was a big time saver. The fried ones were nice too, but didn't keep as well. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were so yummy! Tons of nooks and crannies. I did switch out butter for the shortening, and instead of rounds I used a pizza cutter and made squares to avoid having to re-roll the dough. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This it my 3 time makeing these english muffins. I take to coffee with my friends. Every one likes them,some take some home. Marine 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marine 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by MSelvidio
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
To get a lot of nooks and crannies: -Keep the dough as wet as you can while still being able to form it. The more moisture, the larger the holes will be. Just use a generous amount of flour to keep the dough from sticking to the counter when patting it out to 1/2 inch. -After the first rise, do not punch it down. Spoon it gently onto the floured counter top and pat out, trying to deflate as few air pockets as possible. -After you cut them out and let them rise again, be very gentle when you move them to the griddle; keep those air pockets intact! For more flavor: Double the salt. Otherwise the bread is a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Bizzylizzy
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
They turned out great, I'll never buy them from a shop again ! Although I only got 10 x 3.5 inch muffins out of the batch of dough, so I'll double the quantities next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe is easy and fun and works!! I followed Denisem's tip of making a muffin log and baking them and it worked a treat! I proofed the muffins 3 times before I cut them for a final proofing and baking. I did 10 mins on each side at 375 and they were light and fluffy with a wonderful outer crust. Definately not your store bought muffins and sooo much tastier! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Delicious! I followed another reviewers advice and after initial rise I rolled the dough into a log and cut into 24 rounds. Then I placed them on a cookie sheet in a warm oven (my lowest oven setting is 170 so I let it cool off a little before setting the muffins in) to rise for 30 minutes. This person also suggested baking them at 375 for 5 minutes on each side which I did as well and they turned out awesome. My family enjoyed them and we froze whatever wasn't eaten the first day. They keep well in the freezer and retain that fresh flavor. Great recipe!! Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I looked at many of the English Muffin recipes on the net, but decided to use this one because it was so easy. I used my bread machine to get to dough stage, kneaded it out with a little bit of flour (I used half white and half whole wheat for the recipe) and let it rise. Then I rolled it into a log and cut off about 20 pieces, shaped into a ball, and flattened with my hand. I put these on a corn meal coated tray and let them rise again. Then I very carefully lifted them onto the griddle (stove top - no electric grill here) and cooked them. They were fantastic and will never buy another package of store-type. I made a small loaf of bread with the same batch, so it really stretched my recipe and didn't have tooooo many muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Amazing. Watched some videos to help understand how to make. The boys loved them and so did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States