English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Delicious! I followed another reviewers advice and after initial rise I rolled the dough into a log and cut into 24 rounds. Then I placed them on a cookie sheet in a warm oven (my lowest oven setting is 170 so I let it cool off a little before setting the muffins in) to rise for 30 minutes. This person also suggested baking them at 375 for 5 minutes on each side which I did as well and they turned out awesome. My family enjoyed them and we froze whatever wasn't eaten the first day. They keep well in the freezer and retain that fresh flavor. Great recipe!! Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I looked at many of the English Muffin recipes on the net, but decided to use this one because it was so easy. I used my bread machine to get to dough stage, kneaded it out with a little bit of flour (I used half white and half whole wheat for the recipe) and let it rise. Then I rolled it into a log and cut off about 20 pieces, shaped into a ball, and flattened with my hand. I put these on a corn meal coated tray and let them rise again. Then I very carefully lifted them onto the griddle (stove top - no electric grill here) and cooked them. They were fantastic and will never buy another package of store-type. I made a small loaf of bread with the same batch, so it really stretched my recipe and didn't have tooooo many muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Amazing. Watched some videos to help understand how to make. The boys loved them and so did I!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Yep they very good, I don't use yeast so instead of (yeast) I used baking powder with vinegar and it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
These were amazing! They are SO much better than store bought. I'm ruined now because I can never go back. It was very easy and I didn't have any problems at all. I'm not sure what the "nooks and crannies" is all about but if we're talking air bubbles or holes, I didn't have any of that. The only thing different I did was use the bread flour instead of all purpose. I see a lot of reviews saying not to handle the dough much after the first rise, but when I cut my muffins I had to knead it or stick the remaining dough back together to keep cutting until my dough was gone; waste not want not. It didn't appear to make any difference at all. They all came out wonderful! This is definitely going to be my recipe of choice, here on out. The only thing I would suggest to do different (besides the bread flour) is to use a 4-5 inch cutter. Mine was a 3-inch and was a bit small. They're still very good, but small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very good. I easily made these vegan by using Soy Milk and Earth Balance Buttery Sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Yummy, yummy, yummy. Kids LOVED them, a little denser than store bought. There is no comparasion than having it oven fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Excellent, just too low on salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
So good! I substituted half the flour with whole wheat, and they still came out light and airy. All three of my kids loved them. I was thinking that 18 of them would last a while, but I'm thinking they won't. No problem though, the recipe is pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Very good--very similar to store bought but better! When I sent my mom a picture she jokingly asked if i had opened a bag of Thomas' and put them on a pan! Fun to make, and great way to save money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States