English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I would like to rate 3.5, but there is no option. Although, they did turn out ok, it definitely could have used another tsp of salt because they taste, well, tasteless. I have to say (sigh) I really do prefer store-bought. But since I live in Spain, this is the best I can get I suppose. Either way, it's much more convenient to freeze and remove 1 of these English muffins than it is to thaw an individual slice of homemade bread. So I do appreciate that convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
DH and 4 yr old DS were very happy with these. I made smaller muffins and the 3 of us ate 7 of them very quickly. Fantastic when eaten warm with cinnamon honey butter. Yum, a great treat this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I made these exactly according to the recipe, and they came out very good. They aren't quite like the store stuff, but they are good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These taste good, but they don't taste like any English muffin I've ever had. They're like soft white bread with a crunchy top and bottom. I'm going to try another recipe hoping to get the nooks and crannies inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
These English muffins are so tasty! They are a bit more like a dinner roll, but by using a little less flour than is called for they can be the perfect substitute for store-bought English muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These were very tasty, I will make again. As per other reviewers, 6 cups was way too much flour, which is the only reason it didn't get a higher rating from me. I found letting them rise the last time on the grill before cooking helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I tried again and skipped the punch down part.I also tried to bake them but, they were NOT AS YUMMY!oh yes the second batch turned out so much more bodaciously awesome.thank you linda for sharing this.Also I didn't knead much. The less you play with the dough the better. I even got nooks n crannies this time. you just want to add enuf flour to where the dough is not sticky roll out and use a big cup with a wide lippet. IF YOU WANT BIG MUFFINS I stirred by hand cuz I had no mixer. HOPE THIS HELPS HAPPY COOKING TO ALL! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very nice - I took the advise of others & baked them 8 min a side at 375 - then finished them 2-3 min a side on a griddle set at low. Perfect! Definitely do NOT handle the dough much after the first rising. Saving this recipe in my favorites - Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe. I melted the shortening with the milk and half the sugar. Used the other sugar half in the warm water and yeast. Once the dough was mixed, I only kneaded it for about 5 minutes and let it rest for about 40 minutes. I skipped punching down the dough, placed the dough on a lightly floured surface, gently rolled out the dough and cut rounds out. Didn't want to waste the scraps so I shaped those into bagels and baked those off as well. I didn't pan fry them either since I don't have a griddle and was too lazy to pan bake in small batches. :-) Sprinkled cornmeal on a large baking tray, place cut biscuits on and more cornmeal on top, baked at 360 for 5 minutes then flipped and baked for another 5-7 minutes or until lightly brown on the bottom. Any longer and it'll get too dark/crispy when warming them up again. I like that though. They came out great! Hubby was impatiently waiting to have a fresh one with grape jelly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Mine didn't turn out dense at all! They were beautifully fluffy and soft with nooks and crannies. I did bake them, not pan fry... I just don't have the time to tend to the fire/pan. My husband is over the moon - he hates the 'freezer burn' taste of the store-bought kind. Oh yes, I did use butter instead of shortening cuz that's all I had on hand. The aroma is beautifully buttery and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States