English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I just made them today and they were delicious. I will keep this as one of my staple recipes. I ended up with 22 muffins, which works nicely for me because it is better for Weight Watchers Points Plus. I try to find recipes that I can use to make everything homemade and we love English muffins. I did use butter instead of shortening. Next time I may try coconut oil and half bread flour, half white whole wheat, but they were delicious just as they were. My husband and I always need something filling that we can pull out for breakfast that we can carry in our hand. These will work nicely with egg, ham and cheese. I can wrap them and freeze them and then pull them out as we need them. So excited about these! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I went to go make this, thinking I had all the ingredients. The recipe ingredients list doesn't say cornmeal. The recipe barely mentions it untill step 3. I was very disappointed, but after getting over that fact & after reading other recipes & reviews, I still decided to try this recipes minus the cornmeal. I made it into a loaf & baked it in the oven, this tastes wonderful & so delicious! Almost exactly like store bought, maybe better I can hardly tell the difference, I'll never buy english muffins again! I have to give this 5 stars for flavor, with or with out the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe was both easy and delicious. Followed as written and could not have made a better English Muffin. It was full of nooks and crannies. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterproof, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
These didn't have the nooks and crannies like I was hoping for, was a little bland as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
What can I substitute for the shortening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
After the muffins have been formed place them on a cookie sheet that has been covered with a very thick layer of cornmeal. This will keep the muffins from sticking after they've risen the second time and makes it very easy to slide a spatula beneath each muffin when they're ready to cook on the griddle. Still working over the cookie sheet, gently transfer the risen muffin from the spatula onto your other hand to let the excess cornmeal fall away before sliding it back onto the spatula and then onto the griddle. All the extra cornmeal on the cookie sheet can be tapped onto a flexible plastic cutting sheet and then transferred back to the cornmeal container for reuse in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is an ok recipe but it does need to be altered! We make them with 100% whole white wheat flour and honey. Extremely delicious! Instead of rolling the dough I put it in a log and sliced. Reduce flour to 5 cups, increase liquid and yeast by an additional 50%. After making this both in the oven and stove top I must say that the oven is definitely better. Some say that pan frying them will get you the nooks and crannies but it does not. In fact, they rise much more in the oven and have more nooks and crannies because of this. PLUS, the recipe states to pan fry them for 10 minutes each side, mine were quite brown after 5 minutes on medium heat. The second batch I moved the heat down quite a bit and they were still brown way before the 10 minute mark. Put them in the oven at 350 for 7-8 minutes each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I used honey instead of sugar, butter intead of shortening, used only 5 cups of flour for a really soft dough, and when I kneaded the dough I sprinkled cornmeal in with the flour on the board - but these turned out to be as delectable as any english muffin I've ever had. Fork-splittable, toasted well, with all of the 'nooks and crannies', and excellent base for our own egg, bacon, and cheese sandwiches - or by themselves, with butter. The kids even eat them warm with peanut buter and jelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cody, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Hi ya'all, These muffins are pretty good tasting, but like others, I do wish they had bigger nooks and crannies. Can we double or triple the yeast? Would that help? By the way, they do make great little minny pizzas. lightly toast the muffins on top only, then add toppings and bake, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shonwalker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States