English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by k9sarchick
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My family LOVED this recipe. I followed it exactly. You just have to follow the recipe, where it says "Add salt and rest of flour, or enough to make a soft dough". This amount will vary depending on where you live and the weather/humidity (I only needed 3.5 cups total flour). I think next time I may try a pinch of salt. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k9sarchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good! I wasn't 100% sure how they were going to turn out since the directions are a little sparse in spots, but they turned out perfectly fine. I let them rise for an hour each time, and didn't punch down the dough like suggested by another reviewer. I baked them in the oven for 8 minutes each side at 375 like suggested. Loved them! Ended up using close to 5 cups instead of 6 like listed and mine did turn out with nooks and crannies. Next time I'll try with 4 1/2 cups to see if that works. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I have tried this recipe 3 times now. I like the flavor and texture very much. My problem is cooking them. On medium heat they burn before the time is up, and if I turn the heat down they don't get done in the inside. My last batch was over done, and hard on the outsides! Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
So happy to report that these turned out delicious! After reading a bunch of reviews I did make a few adjustments. Used honey in place of the sugar, butter in place of the shortening, added about 2 Tbl of ground flax seed, and used only about 4 1/2 cups of flour (6 would have been way too much!) I baked them on a cornmeal sprinkled (don't skimp on the cornmeal) baking sheet at 375 for 8 minutes per side. After they were done in the oven I finished them on the stove top in a warm cast iron skillet (no grease/oil) for 2-3 minutes per side. That final step gives the muffin the "finished" look of an English Muffin. Don't skip that last step. I fork split several muffins and toasted them up once cooled. Plenty of nooks/crannies and oh so yummy! No more store bought for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I think these are superb! I used whole wheat flour and butter in place of the shortening the second time I made them and really loved that version too. For those not getting the nooks and crannies, it's all in the cutting. Don't slice through with a knife, instead, stick a fork in and out the side of the muffin all the way around, then gently pull the two halves apart - voila! Nooks and crannies! This will not taste like a store bought english muffin, and that is a good thing! It is much, much better. A bit more dense (just how I love them!) and with a much better flavor. These freeze beautifully also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I was really surprised how well these turned out. I used bread flour, but found I only needed 4 1/4 cup to make a niice soft dough. In response to the reviewer who didn't feel these were true English muffins. I would like to beg to differ. Mine had the correct texture and tasted better than the store bought ones. Thanks for the recipe Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I had great success with this recipe; i used a double burner cast iron griddle i own on the stovetop. they came out beautifully browned with the perfect craggy interior you'd expect from an english muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I just made them today and they were delicious. I will keep this as one of my staple recipes. I ended up with 22 muffins, which works nicely for me because it is better for Weight Watchers Points Plus. I try to find recipes that I can use to make everything homemade and we love English muffins. I did use butter instead of shortening. Next time I may try coconut oil and half bread flour, half white whole wheat, but they were delicious just as they were. My husband and I always need something filling that we can pull out for breakfast that we can carry in our hand. These will work nicely with egg, ham and cheese. I can wrap them and freeze them and then pull them out as we need them. So excited about these! Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I went to go make this, thinking I had all the ingredients. The recipe ingredients list doesn't say cornmeal. The recipe barely mentions it untill step 3. I was very disappointed, but after getting over that fact & after reading other recipes & reviews, I still decided to try this recipes minus the cornmeal. I made it into a loaf & baked it in the oven, this tastes wonderful & so delicious! Almost exactly like store bought, maybe better I can hardly tell the difference, I'll never buy english muffins again! I have to give this 5 stars for flavor, with or with out the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States