English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I've tried this recipes, My husband and i love it. This is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I never even got to the baking stage! I followed the recipe, and my dough was so stiff and impossible to work with! There was nothing that I could do to salvage it, I read reviews where people said they mixed more water in to compensate for over flouring, and that did nothing except make my dough a slippery mess. Very disappointed as I was looking forward to doing this today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niskayuna, New York, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These need to be rolled out much thinner, maybe half the thickness stated. They were burning on the outside and undercooked inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
LindaPinda, you have a winner here. I thought I messed it up by using a KitchenAide, which beat the dough to death, and then over flouring, resorting to hand kneeding in more water. But they were awesome. I did bake each batch at 350 while the next batch was in skillet. I do this simpely bc I hate if the center is ever undone. Take the scraps after the muffins are cut out and fry them with some salt. Pretzels for the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyTheToe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coaldale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is an excellent no-oven recipe. I made these English muffins twice. The first time, most of them got slightly burnt because I cooked them on medium heat and I probably didn't allow sufficient time for the muffins to rise before putting them on the griddle. When I cooked them again yesterday, the muffins were perfectly browned on low heat (10mins each side) and quite fluffy since I had allowed the dough to rise for 1hr before cutting circles and another hour after shaping them. I also used flour bread instead of all purpose as someone else had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
The ones you buy are too small for me, so I used a 4" cutter and got 14 muffins. They turned out great. Note: I AM NOT A COOK, but I do breakfast well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by North Bass Bud

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mistandfog
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These English muffins were awesome. I followed the directions exactly, except for letting my bread machine do the mixing for me. My machine isn't designed to hold that much dough, though, so I couldn't let it finish the complete dough cycle (it would have spilled all over the sides). When they first came off the griddle, these were warm and soft and delicious. My 5 year old loved them, but she said they tasted just like bread, so she didn't see what made them "English muffins," but after fork splitting and toasting them, we got that wonderful texture you expect from an English muffin. There were tons of nooks and crannies, but they didn't quite get to the size of what you might find in a Thomas's--next time I make them, I'll do it by hand and work at the texture, but there WILL be a next time, and another, and another....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My daughter turned these into whole wheat muffins and used Splenda. Came out very well! Extremely dense and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Loved this recipe! I followed the temperature recommendations from another reviewer for the milk and water, and it worked out great. I did not have bread flour, so I used all-purpose. The muffins were very tasty, not as salty as the commercial ones. Next time I will try the bread flour to get them a bit lighter and with more nooks and crannies! A simple and fun recipe, I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by svenco4
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
The only thing I changed was using almond milk instead of whole milk called for. They still came out great! Everyone was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svenco4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States