English Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Never mind, I found my answer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRISAK
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Made these last night and they turned out perfect!I followed some readers advice and cooked over low heat, on a cast-iron skillet, for approximately 5 minutes each side. I replaced the sugar with brown sugar, the shortening by avocado oil and the milk by water (made it vegan) and used bread flour instead of all purpose. The interior consistency came out perfect as well. I believe the key is to let it cool down for 10 minutes or more before eating - as hard as it is to wait - so it finishes the process of cooking correctly. Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Amazing! I'm not sure why anyone said they are not like English muffins. Mine had nooks and crannie and an awesome texture and flavor! Even the cooking time was right on! Love these!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
It's a very good recipe . I baked with half the ingredients and I substituted vegetable oil for melted shortening and added 1/3 of the sugar to the warm water.Sugar helps the yeast to be activated better. I set my griddle temperature on 350°F. It gave me 8 fantastic english muffins. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Made these twice now and they're awesome to stash in the freezer until you want them!! Fantastic for homemade Eggs Benedict. I fried them in a big cast iron skillet and they came out fabulous. The texure was, in fact, as another reviewer stated, more like a bagel, but didn't have that "hockey puck" texure a bagel has. It is VERY different from a store-bought english muffin, but I like knowing that there are only simple ingredients in my food and I'm not eating process plastic...lol. Thanks LindaPinda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Tried this recipe and have fixed 3 batches in a week and a half, my youngest loves them. Good for breakfast. I am not able to get shortening here in Greece, so I used Sunflower oil, taste great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Cline Retsinas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Derrick and Chelsea
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was a really good recipe! I was surprised I was actually able to make my own English muffins! Everything was a smooth process. The only issue I had was cooking the individual muffins on the griddle. I used a low heat and tried to cook it longer. The outside was perfect, but the inside was still a bit undone. I ended up slicing the muffins and baking them at 200 degrees for about 15 minutes. I was worried because them came out a little hard, but the next morning they ended up being perfectly soft! These are great for breakfast sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is the second time making these muffins very good my family loved them today I added 1 tbl of cinnamon and 2 tbls of brown sugar to the mix they are even better....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
So great. they are very hard to find in Colombia! now i can just have them whenever. i used melted butter instead of shortening , came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Really really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth McAndrew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States