English Muffin Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
My husband and I have been trying to keep our foods simple, i.e. no artificial ingredients and preservatives. As we both love to bake from scratch and also LOVE English muffins (all natural and organic are very expensive!) we have been baking this bread and our children and grandchildren love it. The simplicity of this recipe (no kneading, yes!) is the answer to our quest. Experimenting with raisins, cranberries and cinnamon is next. Will keep you posted. Lady G
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made it with my new Kitchenaid stand mixer. It was easy and good the next day toasted. I stored it in the refrigerator after it cooled, wrapped in tinfoil. Certainly, I would prefer to make my own bread than purchase it. It is way more economical. I will definitely use this recipe again. I don't understand why there was one rise with regular yeast. I might as well have used the quick rise yeast. I'd try it with half whole wheat flour to see the results and two rises as long as I have time and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Mmm! At first I thought, "What? No kneading, no waiting for the yeast to bubble, no bread flour?" like other bread recipes. But this came out just right. Soooo much better than store-bought English muffins, which are---compared to making this easy and delicious recipe---$$$. Will make again and again! (Take that, Thomas'!!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Tastes great! I made this on a VERY hot day- it rose in no time. Even to the point of overflowing one of my bread pans. I used a generous measure on the yeast, and no more than 5 cups of flour. The dough was very wet and sticky, but the end result was a loaf full of "nooks and crannys". Delicious toasted with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corey Pearson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Love this! As others suggested I used 1 C WW flour and about 3 C unbleached white flour plus 1/2 t extra salt. I also added the yeast to the warm milk (all milk, 1 1/2 C) instead of putting the yeast in with the flour. No major changes, just a matter of personal preference . Simply delicious, and so much less expensive and tastier than English Muffin Bread at the grocery or bakery....Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have been making this bread for over 20 years! I first got the recipe from a friend. I have taken it to school potlucks and give it for gifts at Christmas with a jar of homemade jam. People always love this bread...it is the best. The cornmeal gives it a nice crunch and it works even better for toast. As soon as I take it out of the oven I drizzle butter over the top. The only problem with the bread is that it disappears quickly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
If you like english muffins, and easy recipes, this is the one you should try. It is great. Glenn from cold county ny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
WOW! I finally made this today & this is a recipe that I will be making again & again! My husband loves it too. He came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clawed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I only used 4 1/4 cups flour. I think I may have let this rise a little too much as there was a large air bubble under the top crust; however, the rest of the loaf had nice air bubbles in it. The flavor is excellent! Toasted is best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I used 5-1/4 cups of flour. Came out great.......lots of nooks and crannies! Good taste. Bland, but not in a bad way. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States