English Muffin Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good recipe! I used all milk, no water. Delicious! I made a second batch with all soy milk and it was equally as good. Same recipe found on the Fleischmann's Yeast packets. I cut the flour to 4 cups for a batter - not a dough. This resulted in a more traditional "holey" crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
These loaves really are "just like English muffins." In my opinion, toasting definitely is required, the same as you would with regular English muffins. The flavor is enhanced by light toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
We all love english muffins in our family, but they can be very expensive! This recipe was great.........we all loved it! Very easy to make, everyone wants the recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
i had no cormeal on hand so i greased and floured the pans, bread didn't stick, but the cormeal adds to the overall texture. i also used my electric stand mixer with the dough hook and over handled the dough a bit to much, thus not getting the great little nooks and crannies that make it so good. this reciped is a good recipe, i just goofed it by getting in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
I love english muffin toasting bread. As a previous review mentioned, it can get pretty expensive. You definitely need to toast it to get the full flavor. I've made this many times. Make sure that it is more of a batter and not a dough. My only complaint is that it always collapsed. instead of the usual bread shape, it ended looking like a brick. other than that. It tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
My whole family loved it. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I don't know if I messed up this recipe or not, but it seemed awfully doughy. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
GREAT recipe...and try toasting it. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
For you bread machine lovers, I halved the recipe, put the ingredients in my bread maker according to the direction, (liquid first, then flour, etc., with yeast last), turned the bread maker on "dough" setting and let it mix for 10 minutes. Took the dough out, put it in a bread pan, let it rise, then popped it in the oven. Turned out great and with a lot less work mixing the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
A little bit dry and bland, but still fairly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States