English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I thought this was a really good recipie...just like english muffins...I was impressed. I coated the entire bottom and sides of pan with cornmeal by shaking it around to make it stick to the cooking spray. I even sprayed the top of the dough lightly and sprinkled the cornmeal there as well....it was great reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Wow! I adore english muffins and I really loved this bread. It was just like eating an english muffin without the crust underneath the muffin. Toasted and lightly buttered, this bread was awesome. I was able to make it in my bread machine, too -- I cut the recipe in half to make a 1.5 lb loaf and used 1 1/2 tsp bread machine yeast instead of 2 1/4 tsp (.25 oz) active dry yeast. I also added about 1.5 tablespoon butter to the dough. I let it run on my basic setting with light crust. I let it cook for about 50 out of the 60 minutes, but it would have turned out fine if I had left it in the entire time, but it the crust was light and crunchy at 50 mins. A great recipe, I'm sure to use it often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I've been making this bread for about a year now, and I love it because it's soooo easy! For those 1st time bread makers - you have to try this, it's impossible to fail !!! And for those other reviewers who said this bread doesn't taste like English Muffins . . . what do English Muffins really taste like ??? Everyone I've made this bread for as ranted and raved - Thanks Jo !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I have made English Muffins for years, but not as often as my family would like because it takes so much time. I was amazed at how easy this recipe was and very suprised at how tasty it was. We baked 6 loaves of it this weekend!! The first batch I made with regular white store bought flour, but the second batch I doubled and used all freshly ground hard white wheat. They turned out great. Our family prefers the freshly ground wheat. It is not the prettiest bread we've ever made, but the entire family enjoyed them. You have to be sure to toast them enough to get the full flavor. We love how the crust gets so crunchy. Also we noticed that it made more of a soft dough rather than a batter. I dipped my finger tips in flour and smoothed out the dough in the pans. It did fall a bit in the center, but this didn't seem to effect the flavor or texture of the bread. I have all ready shared this recipe with a friend. My husband loves English Muffins with his breakfast and He was just as happy with these. We will be making them again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This bread was super, and very easy adapted for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Wow. This bread is terrific; it's got the loose, open crumb of English muffin bread that you've seen in the grocery store. But, it's softer. Nutritionally vacuous, yes, but also yuumy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
I cut this recipe in half, except I still put in 1 tablespoon of sugar, added 2 tablespoons of cornbread mix in place of cornmeal, and put it in my bread machine. It made a 1 1/2 pound loaf. It was FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
This was absolutely phenomenal! I used to buy English Muffin Bread in college, but it's too expensive, even at the bread store. I halved the recipe, kept the full amt of sugar, added 1 1/2T of margarine. I put the ingredients in my bread machine, and ran it on the dough cycle. Once the dough looked to be well kneaded, I turned it off and put it in a prepared stoneware bread pan, and let it rise in a warm oven (set the oven to 200, then turn it off after it warms up). Once the bread had risen, I baked it according to the recipe. It came out PERFECT. I had two slices, well toasted, with spread on them for breakfast. The dough was very firm for me, and it made a nice, heavy loaf, but I expected that. I'm going to be making this one regularly now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanne Tastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Yumdiddyyum! This stuff rocks! I made it with whole wheat freshly ground flour and it was deeeelicious! My husband and I finished off a loaf in an hour :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This is very similar to english muffins except that it lacks the sour taste. We really enjoyed it toasted with butter. I cut the recipe in half and made the dough in my bread machine (using 1 and 1/2 tsp of bread machine yeast) I noticed other reviewers added sugar and margarine to adapt it to the bread machine but I didn't find that it was necessary. I then I took out the dough, put it in a loaf pan (letting it rise for another 15 minutes) and baked as per the recipe instructions. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States