English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Really, a very good English muffin bread. In just under 2 hours I was using this as a foundation to serve Eggs Benedict. A wonderful toothsome texture, that toasted up crisp, with lots of nooks and crannies to hold melted butter or apple butter. Yum! The weather today is quite dry, so I didn't need to use the full measure of flour to make the batter consistency I wanted. There is not a lot of rise to this type of bread (after all there is only one rising and no kneading), so this worked up quickly. I'm at that stage in my life, alas, where I have to reduce salt, and I cut this down to 1/2 tsp. Still very, very good! Many thanks to the submitter :) Far better than anything I could purchase at the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I make this about once a week, and my whole family loves it. It's super easy in my kitchenaid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
loafs taste good but are very dense--the outside crust is very thing and the inside is much chewier than I think english muffin bread should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I did, too, Lanni!!! I cut it in half and used my bread machine! It came out perfectly! Doing this is a hassle free way to make English Muffins. Great recipe and they taste like English Muffins, too. I even left the cornmeal in the recipe even though it doesn't need it in a bread machine. It might help with the English Muffin taste, I don't know but it worked. Since I halved this recipe, I think I'll increase the soda to 1/4 tsp. for more nooks and crannies. I used a light setting crust and set it for a 1.5 lb. loaf. My first slice went into the toaster, Mmmmmm GOOD! Please follow this recipe exactly for a wonderful English Muffin bread. Thanks a million, Jo, for this one. Highly recommended to everybody. It's a keeper for me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Robinsonville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Absolutley perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I have not idea what I did wrong. I have gone over the directions several times and all I can say is that it didn't rise. I put it in the oven hoping it would rise, but instead I ended up with 2 loafs of bread that could injure someone if hit by one of them.I gave it a 2 because I must be at fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
My son can't stand bread. He won't eat eat it, it doesn't matter if it is loaf bread, rolls, muffins, etc. He really likes this bread and has even asked for it! I will be making this a lot now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLFLYERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deadkat
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I followed the recipe, and it turned out excellently. I haven't had much cooking experience, so I used a thermometer when heating the milk and water - I stirred them in when it was still a few degrees cooler than 125(f). I will definitely be baking these again! Crispy crust, slightly crumbly insides, and very chewy. Delicious! One thing I did do was mist the tops for the first few minutes of baking, because the loaves wanted to brown too soon for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deadkat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Like most of the reviewers said, it did not rise enough! A decent bread though. Tasted good. Maybe we should proof the yeast first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I have been making this bread for over 20 years. I use all purpose flour and skim milk. Bake at 400 for 25 mins. I use a dishtowel to cover it and that does not stick to the bread. Remove from pans immediately and cool. It needs to be sliced & toasted before eating. Everyone that I have shared it with wants the recipe. Makes a great Christmas gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States