English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This is the exact recipe I found in Bon Appetit Breads 20 years ago. Except mine calls for 2 Tbsp sugar. It was developed for Microwave baking. I've never nuked it, always baked it and it's always been fabulous! My whole family has this recipe so they can make their own...we love it. I make it for 2 of us and cut the loaves in half, wrap in tin foil then freeze. On the weekends...take foil off, wrap in paper towel, nuke it for 1 minute on high....ready to slice and toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is almost the exact recipe my great aunt has made for years! We all go crazy over it. I do a couple of things different than this recipe. First: I use 2 1/2 cups of milk in place of the 1/2 cup water. Second, I just use all-purpose flour. Finally, to make it a little healthier I only use 1 tsp of salt (you'll never notice a difference!) When baking I like to put tin-foil over the loaves after 10 minutes of baking and leave on for the remaining 15. Loaves still get crunchy but not quite as dark on top. This recipe is a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made this today. I think it needed a little more salt. Pretty good though. Couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Anderson-Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I make this bread quite often. We like to toast it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Horse Shoe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I love this classic toasting bread. I had to increase the baking time for our oven. At 25 minutes it was still gooey in the center, but once bake through it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This is a favorite since 1978 when I got it from a friend. Later found the microwave variation in a Fleishman's ad which reduces the flour 3/4 cup and "bakes" for 6 minutes 30 seconds in the Microwave. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
great breakfast bread. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Very good, very easy, very tasty! Have made this twice. Once in two loaf pans as advertised and another in one larger (9x5) pan. The larger pan was at 375 for 30 minutes (Lower and longer) and it was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 73Pinto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Very easy and the results were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Awesome recipe. I only made one loaf because I knew if I made two I would end up eating a whole one right out of the oven. My batter was very dry by the time I got all the flour mixed in but it rose nice and baked great. Thanks Jo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States