English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I cut this recipe in half and made it in my bread machine. I added about 1 and 1/2 tablespoon of butter. It's great. Tastes good as bread and toasts beautifully. The texture is good and the taste is great. I did have to add a little more water as it mixed, but each bread machine is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the exact recipe my aunt has been using for years and we go crazy whenever she gives us a loaf. It's fantastic. Some tips for beginner bakers: This bread is perfect for beginners...it's very simple and there is no kneeding involved. You can use an instant read thermometer when warming your milk in a saucepan. It just needs to be somewhere between 120 and 130 degrees. Crisco works well for greasing the pans. Don't use a hand mixer to mix the dough..it's far too sticky. Use a Kichenaid mixer with a dough hook (switch to the dough hook AFTER the second round of flour goes in). If you don't have a Kitchenaid, you can use a cuisinart with the dough blade...it works just as well. If you have neither, you can mix it by hand, but that's sort of a pain. After you divide the dough into the pans (and before it starts to rise), sprinkle a little more cornmeal on top for more of an english muffin look. The bread is best toasted! We usually eat it with just butter, pb &j, or cream cheese. Oh..and I bake it at 425 instead of 400 because I like a crispier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I've made this recipe dozens of times; even doubled it to make four loaves because it doesn't last long around my house. It's wonderful toasted or just sliced from the loaf with jam/butter. The texture is wonderful and the flavor is just like an English Muffin but without all the preservatives manufacturers add in. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GO82RO
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
one of the best recipes i've ever used!! came out exactly as promised. i used an electric mixer on the first beating for about 5 minutes to develop the gluten. beat the batter until it got stringy. then only added about 2 1/2 cups to get a soft dough. kneaded that for about 5 minutes and baked for about 40 minutes. put a cake pan on the bottom shelf of the oven and put 1 cup boiling water in when i put the loaves in the oven. the bread is absolutely delicious and perfect. i've enclosed a picture of these first 2 loaves. thanks, gordon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This recipe is a nice "starting off point" but personally I think 1/4 teaspoon baking soda for two loaves is not enough.... I put 1/2 teaspoon for two loaves and also the "batter" came out dry....english muffin batter should be "spreadable" so I added the 2 cups milk but instead of 1/2 cup water I added a whole cup plus a few tablespoons..... The end product was DELICIOUS but I did tinker quite a bit with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Wow! I adore english muffins and I really loved this bread. It was just like eating an english muffin without the crust underneath the muffin. Toasted and lightly buttered, this bread was awesome. I was able to make it in my bread machine, too -- I cut the recipe in half to make a 1.5 lb loaf and used 1 1/2 tsp bread machine yeast instead of 2 1/4 tsp (.25 oz) active dry yeast. I also added about 1.5 tablespoon butter to the dough. I let it run on my basic setting with light crust. I let it cook for about 50 out of the 60 minutes, but it would have turned out fine if I had left it in the entire time, but it the crust was light and crunchy at 50 mins. A great recipe, I'm sure to use it often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I don't know why but my bread didn't rise enough. When I put in the oven, the dough had doubled in size. However, there was no rise during the baking. One would think that bread would rise a lot in the oven. Is this what other people experienced as well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is almost the exact recipe my great aunt has made for years! We all go crazy over it. I do a couple of things different than this recipe. First: I use 2 1/2 cups of milk in place of the 1/2 cup water. Second, I just use all-purpose flour. Finally, to make it a little healthier I only use 1 tsp of salt (you'll never notice a difference!) When baking I like to put tin-foil over the loaves after 10 minutes of baking and leave on for the remaining 15. Loaves still get crunchy but not quite as dark on top. This recipe is a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This bread is very easy to make - works in food processor, and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
This was the first time that I have ever made bread. It was very easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States