English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
This was the first time that I have ever made bread. It was very easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I cut this recipe in half and made it in my bread machine. I added about 1 and 1/2 tablespoon of butter. It's great. Tastes good as bread and toasts beautifully. The texture is good and the taste is great. I did have to add a little more water as it mixed, but each bread machine is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This bread is very easy to make - works in food processor, and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I've made this recipe dozens of times; even doubled it to make four loaves because it doesn't last long around my house. It's wonderful toasted or just sliced from the loaf with jam/butter. The texture is wonderful and the flavor is just like an English Muffin but without all the preservatives manufacturers add in. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This bread was extremely dense and did not rise much for me. It was tasty and did taste like english muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was a good bread, and the texture was right...but it doesn't taste like an english muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I only needed to use about 4 1/2 cup of flour. It is pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Wow! I adore english muffins and I really loved this bread. It was just like eating an english muffin without the crust underneath the muffin. Toasted and lightly buttered, this bread was awesome. I was able to make it in my bread machine, too -- I cut the recipe in half to make a 1.5 lb loaf and used 1 1/2 tsp bread machine yeast instead of 2 1/4 tsp (.25 oz) active dry yeast. I also added about 1.5 tablespoon butter to the dough. I let it run on my basic setting with light crust. I let it cook for about 50 out of the 60 minutes, but it would have turned out fine if I had left it in the entire time, but it the crust was light and crunchy at 50 mins. A great recipe, I'm sure to use it often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICYBLUEROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I've been making this bread for about a year now, and I love it because it's soooo easy! For those 1st time bread makers - you have to try this, it's impossible to fail !!! And for those other reviewers who said this bread doesn't taste like English Muffins . . . what do English Muffins really taste like ??? Everyone I've made this bread for as ranted and raved - Thanks Jo !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I have made English Muffins for years, but not as often as my family would like because it takes so much time. I was amazed at how easy this recipe was and very suprised at how tasty it was. We baked 6 loaves of it this weekend!! The first batch I made with regular white store bought flour, but the second batch I doubled and used all freshly ground hard white wheat. They turned out great. Our family prefers the freshly ground wheat. It is not the prettiest bread we've ever made, but the entire family enjoyed them. You have to be sure to toast them enough to get the full flavor. We love how the crust gets so crunchy. Also we noticed that it made more of a soft dough rather than a batter. I dipped my finger tips in flour and smoothed out the dough in the pans. It did fall a bit in the center, but this didn't seem to effect the flavor or texture of the bread. I have all ready shared this recipe with a friend. My husband loves English Muffins with his breakfast and He was just as happy with these. We will be making them again. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States