English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Very good. I forgot to use the cornmeal..it didn't matter and I realized too late that it called for bread flour, I had already added all purpose flour, again, didn't seem to matter. This is a very easy and good recipe, I sliced one loaf thin and spread garlic butter from this website on it and then broiled for a wonderful garlic bread...the whole family loved this and I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was wonderful warm! I probably shouldn't 'rate' the recipe, as I changed a lot of it... but it is highly recommended as such. I used 4 cups whole wheat flour and 2 cups all-purpose, added a cup of raisins and 2 teaspoons of cinnamon, and added an extra 1/2 cup of water. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Very good and very, very easy to make! We all loved it...I sliced into one loaf almost as soon as it came out of the oven...buttered and spread with cherry preserves. Thanks for the recipe; hard to believe that a homemade loaf of bread could be so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
i adapted this slightly so that i could make it in my bread machine. i found that although this bread was very soft and had a soft chewy crumb, i found it tasted nothing at all like english muffins. the second time i made this i followed the instructions step by step. i had to add extra water as it was very dry. when it came to the step which said - spoon the batter into prepared tins - i wondered if i had done something wrong. i had dough not batter and i just picked it up and put it into the tin rather than "spooned" it in. aain, this was very soft and nice but really shouldnt be called "english muffin bread", it has none of the taste of english muffins. well, not the ones i can buy here in england anyway. was very disappointed. the only reason i rated this 3 stars rather than 1 is that it was a nice soft bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
As opposed to another reviewer who said there wasn't enough baking soda, I messed up and left it out entirely, not realizing my mistake until the bread was halfway risen. Guess what? It turned out just fine! Initial rise was good and great oven-spring as well! As for the flavor... I can't tell it was missing anything, so no harm done! Sure tastes good toasted with some butter or homemade yogurt cheese (from this site!) I think next time I may cut the flour down just a little so I get more of a batter which will give larger holes in the final product. I use the fluff/spoon/level method of measuring flour, which should give the smallest amount of flour per cup measure, but I think it was still a little too much. That said, I still give this recipe 5 stars because the bread is VERY good! Thanks for the recipe, Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I carefully warmed the milk in the microwave to the right temp...not as much chance of me scorching the milk that way! Good flavor, although my dough didn't spread easily or rise particularly well. Excellent toast! Flavor of an English muffin without the nooks and crannies. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
What a delicious bread! A much softer texture than the laoves my mom used to make. I even had to bake mine in 2 8" cake pans- forgot that my sons had claimed my loaf pans for some mysterious science project some time back- was easier to throw them out then try to clean them! The bread is delicious- great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Just a suggestion: when you cover to rise spray or oil plastic wrap.....it will prevent this sticky dough from deflating after you remove it. It was a great morning treat and afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This bread is so easy to make. Its so good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
fantastic and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States