English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
So Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Great for toasting, I guess I like a softer crumb bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the exact recipe my aunt has been using for years and we go crazy whenever she gives us a loaf. It's fantastic. Some tips for beginner bakers: This bread is perfect for beginners...it's very simple and there is no kneeding involved. You can use an instant read thermometer when warming your milk in a saucepan. It just needs to be somewhere between 120 and 130 degrees. Crisco works well for greasing the pans. Don't use a hand mixer to mix the dough..it's far too sticky. Use a Kichenaid mixer with a dough hook (switch to the dough hook AFTER the second round of flour goes in). If you don't have a Kitchenaid, you can use a cuisinart with the dough blade...it works just as well. If you have neither, you can mix it by hand, but that's sort of a pain. After you divide the dough into the pans (and before it starts to rise), sprinkle a little more cornmeal on top for more of an english muffin look. The bread is best toasted! We usually eat it with just butter, pb &j, or cream cheese. Oh..and I bake it at 425 instead of 400 because I like a crispier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Really, a very good English muffin bread. In just under 2 hours I was using this as a foundation to serve Eggs Benedict. A wonderful toothsome texture, that toasted up crisp, with lots of nooks and crannies to hold melted butter or apple butter. Yum! The weather today is quite dry, so I didn't need to use the full measure of flour to make the batter consistency I wanted. There is not a lot of rise to this type of bread (after all there is only one rising and no kneading), so this worked up quickly. I'm at that stage in my life, alas, where I have to reduce salt, and I cut this down to 1/2 tsp. Still very, very good! Many thanks to the submitter :) Far better than anything I could purchase at the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I make this about once a week, and my whole family loves it. It's super easy in my kitchenaid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
loafs taste good but are very dense--the outside crust is very thing and the inside is much chewier than I think english muffin bread should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I did, too, Lanni!!! I cut it in half and used my bread machine! It came out perfectly! Doing this is a hassle free way to make English Muffins. Great recipe and they taste like English Muffins, too. I even left the cornmeal in the recipe even though it doesn't need it in a bread machine. It might help with the English Muffin taste, I don't know but it worked. Since I halved this recipe, I think I'll increase the soda to 1/4 tsp. for more nooks and crannies. I used a light setting crust and set it for a 1.5 lb. loaf. My first slice went into the toaster, Mmmmmm GOOD! Please follow this recipe exactly for a wonderful English Muffin bread. Thanks a million, Jo, for this one. Highly recommended to everybody. It's a keeper for me. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegrindre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Absolutley perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I have not idea what I did wrong. I have gone over the directions several times and all I can say is that it didn't rise. I put it in the oven hoping it would rise, but instead I ended up with 2 loafs of bread that could injure someone if hit by one of them.I gave it a 2 because I must be at fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
My son can't stand bread. He won't eat eat it, it doesn't matter if it is loaf bread, rolls, muffins, etc. He really likes this bread and has even asked for it! I will be making this a lot now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLFLYERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States