English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I got this exact recipe 15 years ago, and it's just as delicious today as then! Toasted is the only way to eat it IMO, and you'll never want the store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Overall an awesome recipe! Tastes amazing toasted with some butter and jam. Any flaws in my final product were no doubt due to my being totally clueless when it comes to baking bread. Next time I'll probably add a bit more water/milk to the "batter" as mine ended up being a relatively dense dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Only because I bake all of our bread - I added some ingredients otherwise, the bread is perfect as it is. We loved it and won't buy muffins ever again! I used just shy of 2 TBS of active dry yeast, 1 TBS malt powder and 1/8 tst of ascorbic acid. These make the yeast jump and preserve the bread - not that it lasts long enough to go stale. I brushed the tops with milk right out of the oven and cooled under a tea towel on a rack to preserve some moisture and keep the crusts from getting hard. This is a wonderful recipe! You are going to love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This bread is WONDERFUL! So delicious toasted with butter and your favorite jelly or marmalade or peanut butter. I make this a lot for friends as a gift and they always ask for the recipe. I usually just make one loaf at a time, cutting recipe in half and I mix the dough on the dough cycle in my bread maker, then take the dough and roll in cornmeal, place in a bread pan and bake as directed. Truly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good as is =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Creek, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I work at a bakery that makes english muffin bread. I decided to try to make it myself and my husband loved it. He couldn't tell the difference. This recipe is great and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This bread is unbelievably comforting and tasty, especially for the ease and price! I've made it several times exactly as written except that in my oven it only takes 15 minutes. Cut it into thick slices, toast it well, and top with butter. Heaven. Last night my husband and I had beer and english muffin bread toast for dinner and it was one of the best meals I've had. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marywether07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! I have to admit, I cheated a little bit, I made my dough in my bread maker, then I put 1/2 of it in a bread pan and took the rest of the dough and made 1 inch little balls and placed them into a muffin pan that I preped the same as the bread pan (with the corn meal) and they turned out awsome! Much easier than using a coffee can, my family love them sooo much that I always have to make a double batch, one for my father-in-law (who always happens to stop by when he hears Im making it) and one batch for us so that I might get some for myself. Love It!! Make it around twice a week aroud here... Great Recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
So Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Great for toasting, I guess I like a softer crumb bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States