English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Overall an awesome recipe! Tastes amazing toasted with some butter and jam. Any flaws in my final product were no doubt due to my being totally clueless when it comes to baking bread. Next time I'll probably add a bit more water/milk to the "batter" as mine ended up being a relatively dense dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Only because I bake all of our bread - I added some ingredients otherwise, the bread is perfect as it is. We loved it and won't buy muffins ever again! I used just shy of 2 TBS of active dry yeast, 1 TBS malt powder and 1/8 tst of ascorbic acid. These make the yeast jump and preserve the bread - not that it lasts long enough to go stale. I brushed the tops with milk right out of the oven and cooled under a tea towel on a rack to preserve some moisture and keep the crusts from getting hard. This is a wonderful recipe! You are going to love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This bread is WONDERFUL! So delicious toasted with butter and your favorite jelly or marmalade or peanut butter. I make this a lot for friends as a gift and they always ask for the recipe. I usually just make one loaf at a time, cutting recipe in half and I mix the dough on the dough cycle in my bread maker, then take the dough and roll in cornmeal, place in a bread pan and bake as directed. Truly yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good as is =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Creek, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I work at a bakery that makes english muffin bread. I decided to try to make it myself and my husband loved it. He couldn't tell the difference. This recipe is great and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This bread is unbelievably comforting and tasty, especially for the ease and price! I've made it several times exactly as written except that in my oven it only takes 15 minutes. Cut it into thick slices, toast it well, and top with butter. Heaven. Last night my husband and I had beer and english muffin bread toast for dinner and it was one of the best meals I've had. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marywether07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I love this recipe! I have to admit, I cheated a little bit, I made my dough in my bread maker, then I put 1/2 of it in a bread pan and took the rest of the dough and made 1 inch little balls and placed them into a muffin pan that I preped the same as the bread pan (with the corn meal) and they turned out awsome! Much easier than using a coffee can, my family love them sooo much that I always have to make a double batch, one for my father-in-law (who always happens to stop by when he hears Im making it) and one batch for us so that I might get some for myself. Love It!! Make it around twice a week aroud here... Great Recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
So Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohasset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Great for toasting, I guess I like a softer crumb bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is the exact recipe my aunt has been using for years and we go crazy whenever she gives us a loaf. It's fantastic. Some tips for beginner bakers: This bread is perfect for beginners...it's very simple and there is no kneeding involved. You can use an instant read thermometer when warming your milk in a saucepan. It just needs to be somewhere between 120 and 130 degrees. Crisco works well for greasing the pans. Don't use a hand mixer to mix the dough..it's far too sticky. Use a Kichenaid mixer with a dough hook (switch to the dough hook AFTER the second round of flour goes in). If you don't have a Kitchenaid, you can use a cuisinart with the dough blade...it works just as well. If you have neither, you can mix it by hand, but that's sort of a pain. After you divide the dough into the pans (and before it starts to rise), sprinkle a little more cornmeal on top for more of an english muffin look. The bread is best toasted! We usually eat it with just butter, pb &j, or cream cheese. Oh..and I bake it at 425 instead of 400 because I like a crispier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States