English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was a very easy bread recipe. No kneading and only one rise time made it super simple. Dough is very sticky and I found greasing my hands and then using them to spread the dough in the pans worked great. I haven't had it toasted yet, but looking forward to it. A bit on the heavy side as breads go, but fine for an English muffin type bread. Good flavor. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
My favorite bread EVER! Thanks for posting this "go-to" version, I find it's perfect as-is (which is a rare thing for me I normally am a "tweaker")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeneralTso77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe is AWESOME! I made many loaves to put in Christmas baskets! Everybody complimented it. Wouldn't change a thing about it. Gotta make some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Love this recipe. Easy and fast, great for new bakers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I cut a slice just minutes out of the oven, buttered it and put some homemade blackberry jelly on it. This loaf won't last long. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Smelled great while baking, and yes it does make excellent toast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Pretty good. Easy to make too--as others did, I just used the bread machine. It definitely needs to be toasted for the flavor and nooks and crannies of the english muffin taste to come through, but it's a nice bread either way. It made 2 nice sized loaves. Thanks for the recipe--I baked at 375 for 40 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I loved this bread! Better yet, my mother, who is not a big fan of my breadmaking, loved it. She has even requested that I make it again. The bread was moist on the inside with a nice crust on the outside. I personally think it needs a bit more salt, but then again, I'm a saltaholic! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I tried this recipe in my bread machine and the 20 servings makes a 2.5 lb loaf and it is GREAT! I would recomment this to any one who likes store bought english muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I devised a bread machine version that worked well. First, I heated the milk and water mixture in the microwave. (Cautionary note: make sure to stir the water carefully-I noted a 20-degree difference in temp between the bottom and top of the bowl). I added _all_ the dry ingredients (including the 6 cups of flour) to the bread machine pan, then added the heated milk and water mixture just before the machine started mixing. _After_ the very warm liquid and dry ingredients had combined to an extent, I added 3 teaspoons of rapid-rise yeast. The volume of the dough was just right for a bread machine, and the mix was a good consistency and easy for the machine to handle. I allowed the dough to rise a bit in the bread machine pan before removing it, dividing it, and placing it in the two bread pans. When this bread bakes at 400 degrees, the top crust browns very quickly. (A typical bread baking temperature is 350 degrees). I took the loaves out of the oven at 20 minutes after I noted that the crust was quite browned, but when I made the first slice, I noted that the bread interior wasn't optimally done. Next time I will leave it in for the full 25 minutes even if the top crust has turned very dark brown. Like every English Muffin loaf, this bread is meant to be toasted. Toasting gives it a fine, crispy crumb. Enjoy it with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States