English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I love this bread...yummy and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This bread makes excellent toast. My kids love it toasted with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
I don't know why but my bread didn't rise enough. When I put in the oven, the dough had doubled in size. However, there was no rise during the baking. One would think that bread would rise a lot in the oven. Is this what other people experienced as well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
This recipe is a nice "starting off point" but personally I think 1/4 teaspoon baking soda for two loaves is not enough.... I put 1/2 teaspoon for two loaves and also the "batter" came out dry....english muffin batter should be "spreadable" so I added the 2 cups milk but instead of 1/2 cup water I added a whole cup plus a few tablespoons..... The end product was DELICIOUS but I did tinker quite a bit with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GO82RO
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
one of the best recipes i've ever used!! came out exactly as promised. i used an electric mixer on the first beating for about 5 minutes to develop the gluten. beat the batter until it got stringy. then only added about 2 1/2 cups to get a soft dough. kneaded that for about 5 minutes and baked for about 40 minutes. put a cake pan on the bottom shelf of the oven and put 1 cup boiling water in when i put the loaves in the oven. the bread is absolutely delicious and perfect. i've enclosed a picture of these first 2 loaves. thanks, gordon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This was absolutely delicious. I have not been able to find english muffin bread in any stores since I left MN! Thank You for sharing this recipe! My husband and I love it!! As did our neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
"MMM Nooks and Crannies"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This is an excellent approximation of an English Muffin, but much easier to make. Mine did not have holes quite as large as English Muffins, but I mistakenly bought rapid rise yeast, so that may have been the problem. In any event, this is wonderful toasted. It's crispy and has the English Muffin taste. A keeper, for sure. I sliced the loaves and froze the slices for easy access for some time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
So good. Kind of a cross between english muffins and australian toaster biscuits, while I love. I was definiltely happy with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This is very similar to english muffins except that it lacks the sour taste. We really enjoyed it toasted with butter. I cut the recipe in half and made the dough in my bread machine (using 1 and 1/2 tsp of bread machine yeast) I noticed other reviewers added sugar and margarine to adapt it to the bread machine but I didn't find that it was necessary. I then I took out the dough, put it in a loaf pan (letting it rise for another 15 minutes) and baked as per the recipe instructions. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States