English Muffin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
made exactly as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was my first stab at making this bread and I goofed!---I got sidetracked from what I was doing (hectic morning in the kitchen) and forgot to oil/spray the sheet of plastic wrap I used to cover the dough before letting it rise (thank goodness, I halved the recipe for my first attempt and was making only 1 loaf). It stuck horribly and deflated the loaf so I tried to give it another rise for 45 minutes. No luck, so I baked the flat thing anyway for exactly 30 minutes. I waited 10 minutes before removing it from the pan and had no trouble with sticking. I couldn't wait until it was totally cool so I cut a piece, toasted it, and ate it with butter and jam. The English muffin flavor of the bread was spot on and the texture wasn't too bad as it still had some nooks and crannies. Amazing, considering it was such a flat loaf. I will most definitely be making another attempt at this, but only when I'm completely alone in my kitchen. I'm sure my next try will be totally successful. Thank you, Elsie, for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this bread to give as a gift with some homemade jam. The recipient and his spouse told me they sliced it thinner and thinner so they could make it last. Will add this to my bread making repertory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I've made this many times, and actually gave a good bit for Christmas presents last year. Yes, the dough is wetter than a regular dough, but that makes the texture for like an english muffin. And for those who said it tasted better toasted....well DUH. Have you ever eaten an untoasted english muffin!??? This recipe is a cinch and a no brainer. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
You will want to smooth the top and not just spoon it over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I don't know what happened, but it didn't rise, not even a little. It wasn't a batter, it was a lump of dough. I went over the directions several times and can't see where I went wrong. I did bake it, it's very dense lumps of bread, but they taste good, and my boys ate it (boys will eat anything). I'm going to try it again to see if I can figure it out, because now it's really bugging me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Norton Morley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Super great! 2 loaves out of the oven in just 2 hours! My husband prefers a traditional yeast bread but this is great for kids sandwiches, etc. Thanks! Edit: Note to self, this takes just over 20 minutes to get to the rising point when deciding if there is enough time to start this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was an easy bread to make and came out great. I let it rise for about an hour, but next time I'll let it rise a little longer. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I asked my mom to make this for me one day. It turned out excellent and she said it was super easy. Can't wait to make it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This recipe is ultra simple and absolutely delicious! I cut the recipe in half because I was short on milk, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States