English Flapjack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
After reading other reviews I did the following. I melted butter with syrup and brown sugar and brought just to a boil. I added 2 1/2 c oats. I baked 20 minutes. Excellent! Oh I also added some chopped dried apricots and slivered slmonds along with raisans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Taste is good, a very simple granola bar, though I had to chisel this out of the pan, and it crumbled easily when it was soft. Maybe I should try honey instead?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Mmmm. Caramelly, buttery, toasted oats...what's not to love? I did use Lyle's golden syrup and highly recommend that for flavor. Honey would be my second choice because it's similar in consistency...corn syrup may have the same texture but it doesn't bring any flavor to the party. I added a splash of vanilla, and I cut oats back to a little over 2 1/2 cups. I wanted some chewiness in the bars. I used black raisins which worked well, but I think the bars are perfectly suited to a little more tang, and next time I make them (there will be a next time!), I'll use dried tart cherries or cranberries. And nuts would be a great addition, too. So simple and yet so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Really easy and tasty. I usually replace the syrup with honey because that's what I have on hand. Also, like others, I only bake it for 17-19 minutes. It might seem too soft when you cut, but it will set as it cools to a firm chewy bar. Any longer in the oven and it tends to end up too crispy or burned, at least in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I never had a Flapjack and was happy to have found this recipe to try. I love oats and this makes for an indulgent sweet treat. Someone else best described the taste like buttery sweet carmel popcorn but made with oats. I found there to be enough liquid to mix with the oats and I brought those ingredients to a boil and then took it off ensuring the ingredients were well mixed. I patted it down in a foil lined 8 x 8 pan and it was about 3/4" thick. I didn't add the raisins. You have to cool this completely and I mean for a good 2 hours or so if you are having problems with it falling apart. Everything has to set up and that takes time. I cut them about half way through cooling and they of course did not have a clean cut because of the oats but that is to be expected. My bottoms were a bit chewy and not crisp like the tops but it was all good and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Utterly delicious! Ours came out a little gooey, so I may work with the recipe. OTOH, part of the reason that they're so good is that they're gooey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Super simple and evil-ly addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Very easy to make and yet very tasty. I took it to work and gave it to people I work with and many liked it more than the granola bars we get in stores. From now on I am noy going to buy granola bars. It's easier and quicker and healthier to make these than buying. Thanks a lot MISSRUSSELL18. I tried making with dates and that was good too. I will update when I try making it with fresh or dried fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great. To me the squares are just like granola bars. I replaced 1/2 cup of oats with 1/4 of dates and 1/4 of pecans. Glad I did. Nuts is a must ingredient in these kind of sweets... They are hard, but very addictive.. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States