English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Phoebe
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
No butter for these butter tarts, shortening is the ingredient, very nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Thank you...big hit over Christmas with my family...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sussex, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Fellow raisin haters: substitute unsweetened coconut into each tart shell in place of those nasty little critters and you will be in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Looking for a great butter tart recipe that is not overly runny but still quite gooey in the centre with a little dripping syrup if the butter tart is tilted downward. Like many of the reviews I read, I felt butter would have been the better choice over shortening, so I added butter instead. One review, doubling the recipe, added an extra egg and having tried other butter tart recipes where it was really runny, I thought this was also a good idea, so I added an extra egg to a double recipe. Another person reduced the corn syrup in half and added maple syrup for the other half of the portion. I was concerned that the maple syrup would, again, make it too runny, so I added a 3/4 portion of the corn syrup and 1/4 portion of the maple syrup to add flavour. The oven temperature and baking time; many reviewers suggested 350 degrees F for 20 minutes. Being concerned with shrinkage of the tart shell as it tends to do that at higher temperatures, and also with the mixture boiling over, I baked it in my convection oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes, then reduced the temperature to 325 degrees for a further 10 minutes. I really prefer a fully loaded butter tart with lots of filling which is why I chose to baked it that way I just mentioned as this way, I was able to fill each tart to 3/4 full. There was less shrinkage of the shell and it didn't boiled over. It does come right to the top but doesn't go over. I yielded 21 FULL tarts with a double recipe...delicious and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Gadoury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I used butter being Canadian that's must. Made 2 batches for my hubby's birthday last night. He gave a 4 out of 5. These tarts disappeared rather quickly. A guest arrived unexpectedly, she had 3 tarts with her cup of tea. She stated,"Those sure are good." I agree! I used tart tins and did not find the results runny. At 375 F 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Kos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I'm so very excited to make this recipe! I'm a huge fan of raisin tarts in Canada. This recipe sounds just how they make them there! Those tarts in Canada (Ontario) taste like a pecan pie but using raisins instead! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I made these last night and they turned out great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee-Anne-Rose Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Just enough "runny". Also makes good mini tarts. (cook 10 - 12 mins, 24 tart shells).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was my first attempt at making any type of butter tart and I must say, I was amazed at the results. I stuck to the recipe for the most part, only making the following changes: I made my own pastry dough and blind baked shells for 12 minutes at 400 degrees in my mini muffin pan. After removing the weights, I let them cool a bit while making the filling. I used an extra egg to ensure that the filling wouldn't be too runny, and it wasn't. I took the advice of others and baked the tarts (in the muffin pan) for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. They came out perfect. Next time I make these, I'll try some without the raisins and perhaps with chopped pecans or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Just made these. I like that they're very easy to make and easy on the budget. I distributed the batter between the 12 shells and they completely bubbled over while cooking and became too flat and shallow once cooled. I'm not sure if I did something wrong here but I sure wish I knew. If I were to fill the shells up even less next time, they'd be even more shallow, which would then look like they're less than half full. I was hoping to have these tarts come out like the ones I bought at a local farm recently. Tastes good and all but the overall appearance of them isn't exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States