English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I tried out this recipe and it wasnt bad. It would have been helpful to know how much filling to put in each tart shell as they rise a lot..which meant it came spilling over making me lose half my filling. I did try this recipe several ways to see what worked best.. I tried the recipe with Crisco and 2 eggs and it came out tasting eggy..yuck! Then i tried it with butter and 1 egg..This i found, was the best modification..Its not too runny and its nice and buttery..I find butter more flavourful than Crisco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Amazing! I used corn oil instead of shortening and an addional cup of brown sugar and 1/8cup of water instead of corn syrup. It's also thanksgiving so I added 1/4 teaspoon of both cinnimon AND nutmag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Moose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Hi. I am the poster of this recipe. It cracks me up how many people say they are runny, as if that's a negative! Butter tarts cooked correct are supposed to be runny.....that's the sign of a good butter tart! Otherwise you may as well have raisin pie:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxbow, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I would give these 10 stars if I could! Not only the BEST butter tarts but perhaps the best dessert I've ever eaten! Everyone who tried them fell in love...and had to eat several at a time! I love how the inside is kind of liquidy (compared to other butter tarts I've tried). The flavour is unbeatable! These things are highly addictive, I will now have to make them for every occasion!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Really good recipe, super easy. They were the best butter tarts I ever tasted. Instead of raisins I used a mix of dried cherries and chopped pecans, yum! They are a bit runny but that's what makes them so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These are SO good! I need easy and amazing recipes and this is one. My husband ate 8 in a sitting and he is not big on sweets. Don't put too much in each cup or they will overflow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This has been a fav. family recipe for years. Not a single year goes by without someone requesting it. The recipe is simple, and easy to follow. I add chopped pecans to mine, and boy what a hit. You have to try this recipe, it will knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great Butter Tart Recipe. I took the advice of the others and used butter and added an extra egg. I also put them in the mini tart shells - you can make close to 60 mini Butter Tarts with those. They were so yummy that my husband ate 6 in one sitting! They are easy to make and taste delicious!I look forward to making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
These butter tarts are the best I've ever tasted. I am the worst baker in existence but every year around this time I get the baking urge, put on my apron and give baking another try, usually with disastrous results. I made them with Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust (recipe on this site which is also a phenomenal recipe); together they turned out the best butter tarts I could ever imagine. We ate them hot from the oven; I don't know if we can wait till the rest cool. I can't believe I actually made them, they were so good! The substitutions I made were using a no sugar pancake syrup with Splenda instead of corn syrup because we're diabetic and the brown sugar was enough sugar for us thank you very much. LOL I also substituted butter for the shortening and used the two eggs so they wouldn't be runny. I whipped the entire mixture till it was frothy, used raisins and pecans, baking them at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes. I really liked this recipe because they were not overly sweet; though I'm not sure if that was because I substituted a no sugar syrup. At any rate, this recipe is a keeper and one I will pass along to my girls (and my son). Thank you ever so much 2doulas for sharing your amazing recipe with us. I know I'll have to make an extra batch tomorrow to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
WOW!!!! So read through the reviews first. I had frozen tart shells and wanted a treat for my children. I doubled the recipe for 24, omitted the raisins (as I didn't have any on hand), used regular corn syrup (on hand), beat till it was like pudding (as per one review) and baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Well I just had one still warm from the oven and AMAZING!! This will be my recipe forever now and will make often since its so simple. Thank you for posting this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlberniBCLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Tiger Butter Chocolates

Learn what’s behind a recipe that comforted family during wartime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States