English Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I've made these a few times and I don't change a thing, except the baking time. I usually bake them for a bit longer so they aren't too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
They were D-elicious but a little too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
They turned out wonderful. Nice and runny like ther are supposed to be.Next time thou I will have to roll my pastry thinner.(My error) They are still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
loved these!!! i didnt use the whole 1/2 cup of corn syrup though. i used 1/4 cup corn syrup and 1/4 cup maple syrup. so good. i will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andie_p

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is a mouthwatering Butter Tart, its original, same recipe I have except mine doesnt use corn syrup. I'm so pleased with it, its on our Easter table this year. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
these were snapped up so fast, i barely had a chance to get one myself. so amazingly good!! would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OldFashionedFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These are great! However just a helpful tip: besure that the shortening is at room temperature otherwise there will be clumps. and clumps are bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Good taste, but I made it exactly as it said and they were really, really runny. Will try again, but alter to make 'thicker'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I tried out this recipe and it wasnt bad. It would have been helpful to know how much filling to put in each tart shell as they rise a lot..which meant it came spilling over making me lose half my filling. I did try this recipe several ways to see what worked best.. I tried the recipe with Crisco and 2 eggs and it came out tasting eggy..yuck! Then i tried it with butter and 1 egg..This i found, was the best modification..Its not too runny and its nice and buttery..I find butter more flavourful than Crisco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Amazing! I used corn oil instead of shortening and an addional cup of brown sugar and 1/8cup of water instead of corn syrup. It's also thanksgiving so I added 1/4 teaspoon of both cinnimon AND nutmag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Moose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States