English Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Don't you love it when a recipe (like this one) tells you to season "to taste" and then some bright bulb reviews it as "too bland". If you season it *to taste*, then it can't be too bland unless your taste is bland, and then you shouldn't be complaining! People are a riot, aren't they? This is a perfectly serviceable recipe for roasted potatoes. Just make sure you salt and pepper "to taste".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
My family and I really liked this recipe. I will have to try it again a few more times to work the kinks out, but had a good start tonight. I must have cut my potatoes too thin, because they only took about 20 minutes to bake. I just flipped them over and placed under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp them up. I also used too much oil. I didn't bother to measure. Next time I will use just enough to coat the potatoes. I also used season salt rather than regular and I like them. I think next time I will try some powdered ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I have allowed myself to add some BBQ spieces which made it sensational. One mistake though, added more oil than needed. not fatal but less oil, better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This recipe is great! Like some of the other reviewers, I also added a couple of ingredients. I used onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, and seasoned salt. I mixed all of the ingredients in a ziploc bag and threw the potatoes in there to coat - this was much easier than using a bowl. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
So simple and so delicious! I love it when a few ingredients you have in the kitchen come together to create something so good. I opted for a little kosher salt and cracked black pepper. Although you may feel tempted to add additional herbs or spices, this is really wonderful due to it's simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is nice for "on the fly." Definitely don't use too much oil and I added garlic salt, which added a nice flavor. I sliced them fairly thin and cooked about 15 minutes, turning over half way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Can't even fathom anybody criticizing this recipe - it's as basic as a "pure potato" recipe can get, and that's not a bad thing. EVOO, salt & pepper shaken up in a zip-lock w/ the potatoes - wonderful! Just as good w/ the addition of paprika and garlic. But really, this recipe is the potato equivalent of the grilled cheese - Simple. Good. Yum. Season to your heart's content, but at the core of this recipe is a moist hunk of potato. Repeat. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Loved 'em , Cut the recipe in half for me and my husband. I used seasoned salt instead of salt and pepper. My husband couldn't get enough, he loved 'em !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Just so we are clear these are NOT english baked potatoes they are chip aka fries / wedges a baked potato is a whole potato washed rubbed with salt and baked in the oven about 180 for about and 1hr until the potato slides easily off a knife when stabbed great chopped in half with butter or any other fillings just had to clear this up these are what we english cal CHIPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Good standard roast potato recipe there was nothing extraordinary about them, but they were delicious. I dressed them up with salt, black pep, seasoned salt, rosemary, and parsley. I will try it with garlic & onions powders and paprika next time. I cut them pretty thin and it virtually took 20 mins for them to cook nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States