English Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
They turned out dry and tasteless. My husband did not like them, and he NEVER tells me that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam N.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Purdy, Missouri, USA
Living In: Diamond, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I've made these several times but have not taken the time to review. They are in the toaster oven and Im having a glass of wine so I thought I'd do it now. We love these. I'm serving them tonight with East Carolina BBQ's,roasted veggies and salad. I just drizzle XXX Virgin Olive Oil on them after I've cut them(like fries, but not too thin)& put them in a produce bag I've saved from the store. Saves washing an oily bowl and recycles the bag. I use these for lots of things and even get an extra one every now and then. I use Celtic Sea Salt and pepper and they turn out great. I do bake them in our toaster oven (just 2 of us) at close to 400. Thanks much for the recipe. Much healthier than crappy old frozen fries with all their additives. Occasionally I sprinkle garlic or parmesan, but tonight they're mostly naked with S & P. 10/6/09 making these again tonight with garlic powder and parmesan to go along with the cream cheese jalapeno popper burgers from this site. third time i've made the burgers in a week. i used ground turkey and seasoned the meat and the cream cheese mixture, also added a little shredded cheddar tonite to the filling. these are great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hurley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Loved 'em , Cut the recipe in half for me and my husband. I used seasoned salt instead of salt and pepper. My husband couldn't get enough, he loved 'em !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
these are just oven cooked french fries (chips) Try adding paprika to them very yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyStepford

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Just so we are clear these are NOT english baked potatoes they are chip aka fries / wedges a baked potato is a whole potato washed rubbed with salt and baked in the oven about 180 for about and 1hr until the potato slides easily off a knife when stabbed great chopped in half with butter or any other fillings just had to clear this up these are what we english cal CHIPS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I've been making these for years. It's a nice easy/less fattening alternative to fries. I like to change up the seasonings every now and then (sometimes I add garlic powder/basil/romano cheese to make them italian... sometimes I add mexican seasoning.) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These were delicious but there was way to much olive oil for my taste. I will start off next time with 1 tablespoon. I also took the advice of others and added season salt, pepper,and parsley. I also broiled them and they turned out so crisp! Make sure you cut them thin for extra crisp potatoes. Will make again! Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Good standard roast potato recipe there was nothing extraordinary about them, but they were delicious. I dressed them up with salt, black pep, seasoned salt, rosemary, and parsley. I will try it with garlic & onions powders and paprika next time. I cut them pretty thin and it virtually took 20 mins for them to cook nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Really Awesome Basic Recipe! So much better for you than fried potatoes and really tasty. My entire family loved them. I used fresh ground sea salt and ground pepper and baked them for the time suggested and then broiled for about 4 minutes to get them just perfect, just as another reviewer had suggested. Two Thumbs Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie&gabrielsmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I admit, I doctored these potatoes up with onion powder, garlic powder, and black pepper. They were really nice this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States