Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I was looking for an energy bar to replace the store brands and WOW! I found it! I made them just as the recipie says without any additions or subtractions. These things are delish and pack a serious energy punch! I made a second batch for the runners in my running group and they were a big hit. Have had to share the recipie and will probably never buy the store brands again! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
these are delicious! i changed the recipe a little, by using almonds in place of walnuts, dried cranberries instead of apricots, and vanilla protein powder instead of powdered milk. i also added a handful of chocolate chips..... yum! have made these 4 times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is good, but room for improvement. These were more cake-like than I expected, it could have been that I used normal wheat flour instead of wheat pastry flour. Although I have to say the next day they were a little less cakey so that was good, and my husband loved them. I might add a little salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I put all the ingredients in the food processor to hopefully disguise the dried fruit and seeds, then baked it in a 7x11 inch pan. It came out to a dense muffin consistency. The kids still didn't like them (mostly because they read the recipe and knew what was in them), but I think they are tasty. Next time I might add a little peanut butter and maybe a FEW small chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are pretty good! Instead of sunflower seeds I used pepitas and 1/4 cup each oat bran and ground flaxseed for the wheat germ. I agree with the other reviewer that these had a cake-like texture - not bad, just different. I think they needed some salt. I'll add 1/2 tsp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
VERY TASTY... however I did not have all the ingredients as listed. I had no dried milk (used nothing in replace of), apricots (used dried cherries), wheat germ (used Bran Buds) no whole wheat flour (used white)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Excellent. I didn't have sunflower seeds, so I substituted finely ground pecans. I forgot the salt that other reviewers recommended, but I'll remember next time. I also added 2 tablespoons of black strap molasses to the maple syrup and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I only had cake flour, not pastry flour, but it did the trick and was not "cakey" in the slightest. That is what makes this recipe so good. It's versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Loved them! They didn't last long in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
These were awesome! My kids devoured them. Moist, sweet and packed with good things. I made minor substitutions: regular rolled oats, more apricots instead of dates, unsweetened coconut instead of walnuts, honey instead of maple syrup. I love that they have no refined sugar. No peanut butter means they can be sent as a school snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I'll admit to a few subs, which is hard not to do with this many ingredients. I don't like raisins so used craisins instead. I had to eliminate the eggs so used the flax/water sub for those. Last two subs: I used the flour on hand (white whole wheat) and chopped sliced almonds for the sunflower seeds that went missing. These are not the texture I hoped for (maybe in part to due to the flour and egg) but are tasty, healthy, and easy to play with to suit your taste. They are a little more moist than I thought so I would likely try baking them a little longer next time. I made the 9 x 13 as stated, baked for 25 minutes at which point they had a springback similar to brownies, and cut them into 12 equal bars. With the subs and the extra bars I calculated it at about 210 calories per bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States