Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I was looking for an energy bar to replace the store brands and WOW! I found it! I made them just as the recipie says without any additions or subtractions. These things are delish and pack a serious energy punch! I made a second batch for the runners in my running group and they were a big hit. Have had to share the recipie and will probably never buy the store brands again! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
these are delicious! i changed the recipe a little, by using almonds in place of walnuts, dried cranberries instead of apricots, and vanilla protein powder instead of powdered milk. i also added a handful of chocolate chips..... yum! have made these 4 times already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is good, but room for improvement. These were more cake-like than I expected, it could have been that I used normal wheat flour instead of wheat pastry flour. Although I have to say the next day they were a little less cakey so that was good, and my husband loved them. I might add a little salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These are pretty good! Instead of sunflower seeds I used pepitas and 1/4 cup each oat bran and ground flaxseed for the wheat germ. I agree with the other reviewer that these had a cake-like texture - not bad, just different. I think they needed some salt. I'll add 1/2 tsp. next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I put all the ingredients in the food processor to hopefully disguise the dried fruit and seeds, then baked it in a 7x11 inch pan. It came out to a dense muffin consistency. The kids still didn't like them (mostly because they read the recipe and knew what was in them), but I think they are tasty. Next time I might add a little peanut butter and maybe a FEW small chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
VERY TASTY... however I did not have all the ingredients as listed. I had no dried milk (used nothing in replace of), apricots (used dried cherries), wheat germ (used Bran Buds) no whole wheat flour (used white)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I really like this recipe! I've been looking for recipes to use to start making my own energy bars because the store-bought ones do not have the right selection in my area. I made some changes to these due to the availability of ingredients: I changed to wheat germ for flaxseed meal, changed the sunflower seeds to almonds, and I had almost no dried fruit in my house so all I put in was a single serving box of raisins! Next time I will definitely add more dried fruit, but this was a great base to work off of! Will be adding this to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Loved them! They didn't last long in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I was looking for a healthy energy boost for my kids to eat before swimming practice and this was perfect. It's is a versatile base you can switch up to your own liking. I made a few modifications: dark chocolate chips instead of walnuts (due to food allergy), dried cranberries instead of raisins (because they go great with dark chocolate), and agave syrup instead of maple. These were also very easy to make--dump everything into a bowl, mix, spread, bake. Just what's needed for a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Excellent. I didn't have sunflower seeds, so I substituted finely ground pecans. I forgot the salt that other reviewers recommended, but I'll remember next time. I also added 2 tablespoons of black strap molasses to the maple syrup and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I only had cake flour, not pastry flour, but it did the trick and was not "cakey" in the slightest. That is what makes this recipe so good. It's versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States