End of the Line Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My family of non-casserole fans LOVED this! I sliced the potatoes, leaving the peelings on, and used onion and garlic powder, since my kids don't like "chunks" of onions. I mixed all of it together with some American cheese (it was all I had besides a small amt of parmesan) before putting it in the baking dish. My family loved this so much when I made it last week that I'm making it again tonight! I think it would be good with green beans mixed in, too. Anyway, thanks for a great recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
DELICIOUS and easy! I made this recipe exactly as written and my husband and I enjoyed it immensely. A great way to use up leftover ham from the holiday. We will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Tasty. Only change I made was that I reduced the amount of onion (I'm not a huge onion fan). It took a while, but tasted pretty good. Best part about it was that it got rid of the last of the Christmas ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I made a larger batch. I also added frozen peas, green beans and corn. Also added cheddar cheese and put crushed Ritz crackers on top. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a great change-of-habit recipe for ham. I used the Tyson "heat-n-eat" ham, which is in a maple glaze sauce, and that added a nice sweetness that the kids liked. I also added about 1 c. mixed frozen (thawed) veggies and used minced garlic and finely chopped onions, which I sweated first. I made this up ahead of time to be able to pop into the oven later...I even pre-cooked the potatoes, but they came out a bit "al dente" (I probably will slice them, like it calls for, instead of cubing next time!). I had to use a 3 qt dish, as the recipe was greatly increased by the veggies and potatoes. Served with fresh bread, this was a VERY hearty meal and I'm sure I will make it again. It would even make an excellent pot pie by adding a crust :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars based on the way I prepared/cooked it. I didn't have cream of celery so I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic. I used 4 potatoes (smaller ones) and 2.5 cups of ham. I ccoked the potatoes in the microwave first as many others suggested. I first cooked them for a few minutes with a 1/4c of water. Then I added the soup to the potatoes along with pepper and some more water. Once the potatoes were done I added some cheese (american and cheddar shredded) and then the ham. I mixed it all togther instead of layering and cooked for 20 minutes. It turned out great! I did add more cheese and some frenchs onions on top (no sliced onion was added as my husband doesn't like it added onion powder instead) then cooked for 6 more minutes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Cook a little while longer to soften potoates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sgt. Pepper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I rated this "the best" because it was an easy and new option for leftover ham that didn't require any fru-fru spices or fancy wines or vinigrettes - and even I had each of the ingredients. The kicker is it was absolutely delicious and I would try it with fresh ham, too - not just leftovers. (I don't want to eat something else while I'm waiting to make this dish. >^,,^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rotterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Your recipe was okay with my family, it just wasn't as good as I thought it would turn out. But I still give you my thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I made the mistake of following the recipe exactly as written. Way too salty! I wish I had read the reviews before making it so I could have used a low salt cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of celery soup. Also I would have used a different cheese as the Parmesan just added to the saltiness. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States