End of the Line Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I added frozen brocoli to this, along with some shredded pepper jack cheese and a little leftover vegetable stock that I had. I added a sliced tomato and chopped up two garlic gloves. I sprinkled some bread crumbs on the top with the parmesan cheese. I think I used 3-4 sliced potatoes. The first time, I actually parboiled the sliced potatoes, which cut the baking time back quite a bit. It was a huge hit with the family, though and great use of leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I read the reviews first,so precooked the potatoes & onions in the microwave, then layered the diced ham over that, then a generous layer of shredded cheese, poured over the sauce-used cream of mushroom w/roasted garlic,+ some more minced garlic, then sprinkled some It. bread crumbs over the top. Baked for 1/2 an hour. The potatoes could have been cooked a little more-(I used 4 big ones), but the reheating of the left-overs will take care of that. We really liked this & I would do it again. Thanks, Dottie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Just kind of ok. It had to cook much longer (almost 2 hours) and my potatoes were sliced in my food processor, like potato chip thickness. If I made it again I would add some heavy cream or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
For someone like me, I appreciate the change from heated leftovers. I think this is a great wrap up dish and applaud you for putting it out there for the rest of us. In these times you can not be timid. My husband loved it, the simplicity of the ingredients and the fact they are staples in our home saved me a trip to the grocery store and throwing out perfectly good leftovers. Bravo, Bravo from a f/t working Mom and loving Wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I REALLY liked this! I did not "tweak" it too awful much-but I did toss in the green beans that were leftover from Thanksgiving, too! I put 'em in after the potato layer. They were just simple green beans, cooked with bacon pieces&onion...used cream of mushroom soup, too. It was even better the next day! Thanks, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this tonight for the first time, but made modifications to the original recipe. I think the original would have rated a 3 due to some blandness of flavor. With my modifications, I give it a 4-5. I used a V-slicer on the 'fine' setting to slice the potatoes & onions. I sauteed the onions until golden brown, then added the soup & milk and brought it to a simmer. Then I added 1 small crown of broccoli chopped fine (using V-slicer on stems) & simmered for 5 min. I layered the sauce, potatoes, & ham in a glass casserole dish (10" across) 'lasagna style' with 4 oz shredded pepper-jack cheese (there were 3 layers each of potatoes, ham, sauce & cheese). Baked as directed. Topped at the end with 1/2 cup Panko breadcrumbs mixed with 1 tbsp melted butter & 1/4 cup Parmesan. It turned out wonderfully; lots of flavor & fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Good comfort food. I added diced tomatoes to this recipe and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Great recipe for leftover ham. I had so much extra ham in the freezer that I doubled it. I also added two heads of broccoli from the farmers market. I sautéed them lightly with the onions. I would add a couple extra potatoes next time too. Like previous reviewers I sliced the potatoes thin and microwaved them for about 3 minutes to get them started and I had no problem with crunchy potatoes. Yummy will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
A little rich and bland for my taste. If I make it again, I will try to spice it up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Laurens, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States