Enchiladas Suizas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I took the advice of another reviewer and crock-pot cooked my chicken breast. I used cumin, bay leaves, dried basil, coriander powder, 5 whole cloves of garlic and half a white onion and slow-cooked the chicken for 4 hours. The aroma was fantastic. The last hour, I added half a can of chile verde enchilada sauce and let it cook. I fried my tortillas and I do believe it makes the dish taste more authentically Mexican, like my best friend in high school's grandma used to make, and keeps the tortillas from breaking when you roll. I removed the chicken from the crock pot and then added the remaining can of sauce to cook while I shredded the chicken and assembled the rolls. I skipped dipping the tortillas in sauce. But I did take a hand blender and pureed in the crock the chicken drippings/chile verde sauce, cooked garlic and onions all together. Poured on top of the rolls in a casserole dish, then added heavy whipping cream over top. Baked at 400 deg (350 is too low) for 25 min. It was really yummy. All the flavors came together and the top layer of enchiladas were a little crispy but not too hard, due to the fact we fried already. The sauce had much more depth because of the chicken drippings, garlic, onions and additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Absolutely delicious!! I did take the recommendation to cook the chicken in the slow cooker with the verde salsa. It cooked for a good 4 hours on high and 2 on low and was really easy to shred...I also didn't fry the tortillas, just dipped them in the hot verde salsa from the slow cooker...I also only used 1/2 of the heavy whipping cream. Again delicious and I will be making this my go to dish for company!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Wonderful. Made this with leftover Thanksgiving turkey, but next time I will try canned chicken (as I have found it to be great in enchiladas). Made it with flour tortillas, and just cheddar cheese. I'm sure the different cheeses would only make it better. Fabulous sauce, and the cherry tomatoes make it (granted I did use fresh from my garden)....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was REALLY good and flavorful. Really rich and really cheesy though so definitely a diet breaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Scott, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Made these just as posted and they were delicious! Would love to try some of the shortcuts others tried, but I really don't want to fix what ain't broken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is a great base recipe for enchiladas, and the sauce is amazing. My whole family loved it, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Fantastic sauce! Easy easy peasy to make! Made a short cut by buying 2 lbs ready made pork carnitas, shredded and cooked in sauce. Didn't bother rolling, layered the tortilla, sauce, meat & cheese. Baked as usual & turned out amazing! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Penaflorida-Lotto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I am Hispanic and just want to say that this is a spectacular recipe. Thank you for submitting it, Ladygwyn. I made mine using what I had on hand, i.e. ground turkey instead of chicken, as well as Crema Mexicana instead of cream. This will become a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Super recipe we love it---I use Pam in the frying pan and it works good to cut out the fat-it warms them up enough to roll just fine. The flavor is a great combination...make them quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I used fresh jalepenos and anaheim peppers. It could have been a little bit spicier but you never know what your going to get with those peppers. Flavor was spot on and the cream is what puts this over the top. I used a large lasagna pan and spaced out the echiladas about a 1/2 inch apart so they stayed individual and didn't cook like a casserole. My husband said this is better than any restaurant. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States