Enchiladas Suizas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This had a nice, subtle flavor. I used 1/2 c jalapenos and 1/2 c green bell just because that's what I had. The man wanted more spice to it, so next time I'll make it with the whole cup of chili peppers. This sauce was tasty! I suggest doubling it; there was not enough IMHO. I used a mexican cheese blend, a rotisserie chicken to cut down on prep time and wheat tortillas. I did not fry the tortillas and I simply put a heaping spoonful of sauce on the inside instead of dipping them. I greased the baking dish with Pam and used fat free half & half instead of heavy cream. I got 5 perfectly stuffed 8" enchiladas out of this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I'm not giving this 5 stars because any recipe that ends up being another excuse to eat a lot of cheese and chicken without being called cheese and chicken (as if the guilt would go away!) doesn't deserve 5 stars. Does this recipe taste good? YES! Do my kids it? YES! Was it hard to make? Not really. Was it company-worthy? Probably. Now, I need to find a recipe that combines lima beans, eggplant, brussel sprouts and cottage cheese in a tasty way, and I'll give that 50 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This dish is AMAZING! If you dip the corn tortillas in oil, it gives them a more authentic flavor. My Dad grew up in Mexico and he loved this dish. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Great recipe. Made a few minor changes... Used two 4oz cans of diced fire roasted chiles, drained a little, in place of fresh. And substituted fat free half and half for heavy cream. Next time I might add some cilantro and other spices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Yum! This was very good. I was concerned that it wouldn't turn out, but it totally did. I used 2 cans of chopped green chilis and 2 cups of chicken broth for the sauce. DP said he would have liked a little more spice, but we wanted the 1-year old to be able to eat this as well. Otherwise, we could have added some hotter chilis. I will probably increase green sauce by 1/2 next time, so there would be some extra for serving at the table. After reading other reviews, I opted not to fry the tortillas in oil. I did dip them in simmering heavy cream, and they did not fall apart at all. I saved a step and calories! I also don't think it's necessary to add the onions, tomatoes or olives at the end. I don't think I will next time. We enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
A favorite at my house...well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were AMAZING! I'm definitely going to try these again soon with pork. I loved the flavors...everything was just right: juicy, cheesy, saucy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was my first successful enchilada recipe after many failed attempts with other recipes! The sauce alone is worth making this recipe for! (I did cut back the salt to 1/2 tsp and it was salty enough for our tastes) Other than that I followed the recipe exactly except the first few tortillas I did not dip and then I changed my mind and decided to go with the recipe. The dipped tortillas were much much better. I also put a little of the salsa in each enchilada. I was worried about all the cream so I only used 3/4 cup but there was no problem with there being too much liquid and I'm sure the whole amount would have been just fine! These were perfect! I will definately be making them again and this recipe changed my husbands mind about enchiladas! Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Not much to say other than these were AMAZING AND YOU SHOULD ALL MAKE THEM! I was worried about the sauce and thought I wasnt going to like it, but oh man the cream just made these go from good to absolutely perfect. I followed the recipe exactly, although I don't really see why you have to fry the tortillas, I think just microwaving them would save time, dishes, calories, and give you basically the same product. I also didn't use tomatoes, but Im sure that would have been a great addition. Mine took longer than specified to cook, but it was well worth it. My boyfriend ate 3(he's a small guy too) and then ate the leftovers for lunch the next day! Absolutely recommend these to everyone if you're willing to put in some effort for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paigey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
To die for! I love this dish and so does everyone I make it for! I slow cook the chicken in red enchilada sauce, use canned chilis to save time and spread sour cream over the top instead of heavy cream. I also drizzle some of the red enchilada sauce over the top. Try this recipe...it's worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States