Enchiladas Suizas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a big hit with my family. You can use different types of tortillas: spinach, whole wheat, etc. I like to use meat left over from another meal and reinvent it in a recipe like this one, but not spend all night making it. This is that recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Excellent! I followed the recipe as written using pulled pork, except I didn't add the cream. It was easy, the salsa verde was perfect for my son who liked spicy but not too hot. To me, it was perfect. Thanks for this perfect enchilada recipe. Will definately make again using chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Delicious recipe the only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is because of the time. Base on the reviews I doubled the sauce expecting it to yield 8 smothered enchiladas, instead I ended up with double the smothered enchiladas which was fine because they are so yummy they wont last long. I slow roasted and pulled a pork loin a couple days before and kept it in the fridge until I was ready to make this. I did fry my tortillas and I dipped both sides in sauce. The only down side it the time...it took me almost an hour and a half for prep and 20 minutes to cook. I did all of my chopping and grating with a food processor. I will mention this was my first time hand rolling enchiladas, my mexican grandmother always taught me to make enchilada casserole because it is quicker, since she was a mother of 8 kids I can see where she is coming from! If you have the time this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I have made this twice and my husband absolutely loves it. I keep forgetting to put on the tomatoes and olives at the end but it stands on its own without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Really Delicious and easy to prepare!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Plus 5 more if my DH has anything to say about it. He was, seriously, almost licking his plate. This is such a simple dinner. I did cheat and used a store bought grilled chicken. The sauce was out of this world good. DH likes to go for mexican at least once a week and said this was the best EVER! Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is awesome! I will NEVER buy canned Enchilada sauce ever again. I didn't have chicken, so I used ground beef. It was amazing! This will be one of my favorite recipes. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roberts, Idaho, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I can’t remember the last time I put so little effort into a dish and was so rewarded. This was just delicious. I did make a number of changes to simplify this but preparing the recipe as is or with the shortcuts I took will make this equally delicious. Rather than preparing the salsa from scratch I used my favorite commercial salsa verde (it contains a higher proportion of tomatillos and dang it, I can’t find it anymore!). I used a prepared rotisserie chicken, which not only is super convenient, but it has so much more flavor than the typical poached chicken breasts. When it came to filling the tortillas ((I used flour tortillas because I just don’t like corn tortillas), I warmed them briefly one at a time in a skillet with a little oil, then filled them with the chicken that I had mixed with some sour cream and some of the salsa till good and creamy. And then the cheese of course! I measured nothing – just filled and rolled, then poured over the salsa, then the cream, until it looked right. I topped them with more cheese during the last 5 minutes of baking and served them with MORE cheese, chopped tomatoes, black olives, chopped green onion and sour cream. Beautiful. And so delicious you can’t help eating more than you should. Side dishes of Maria’s Mexican Rice and Rush Hour Refried Beans, both recipes also from this site, completed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Great! I just added the chicken into the verde and did everything else the same as recipe. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Years ago I used to live in Mexico, and Enchiladas Suizas were among my favorite foods. I've craved them for so long, and was thrilled to find this recipe! I often do the same as other reviewers, and use a rotisserie chicken to save on prep. I've made these either with jalapeño or poblano chiles, depending on how much heat I want. I'd say use maybe 2.5 cups of chicken to fill them out a bit more, and I usually end up using 1.5-2 cups of the cream (hey, it comes in pints anyway--why waste it?!!). I also substitute oregano for the cumin; I'm not a fan of cumin, plus I think too many people just add a lot of cumin to dishes and call them Mexican. (Actually oregano is a more "authentic" spice, depending on the region!). Then I follow the rest of the recipe to the letter, and they turn out wonderfully. I might try adding queso fresco to the cheese topping some day, but so far these enchiladas are fantastic--they take me straight back to Guanajuato every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States