Enchiladas - New Mexico Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I would not have tried this recipe, but my mother-in-law always made her enchiladas this way and I remembered how good they were. This recipe was fantastic. My daughter does not remember grandmas, but she loved these. I did not have canned sauce so I used the "10 minute enchilada sauce" (also a keeper) recipe from this site. I sauted the chicken briefly and then simmered the chicken in the sauce for about 20 minutes. The egg sounds like an odd addition, but it absolutely makes the dish. Thank you for the delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Winner Winner Chicken Dinner! I really enjoyed this dish. I served this for Cinco De Mayo dinner. This required little effort and looked nice plated. I made Mrs. Espy's enchilada sauce for this. I made 2 layers for this and they were plenty big and really a meal in themselves with no side dish necessary as a filler. This was much easier than a traditional enchilada but wasn't quite the same flavor or texture either. The egg really makes this dish stand out and I wouldn't skip it seeing as it adds a lot to the character of this tasty dish. I plan on fixing this again. Gracias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe and easy too. Unlike some eviewers, I don't have access to the fresh chilis, so this recipe is great as it gives you the options of the can items, which I can get from my grocery store. Thank you for such a great and tastey recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Mmmm, these were fantastic! I've never tried eggs on enchiladas before this, but I'll definitely be eating them again! I used Hatch brand red enchilada sauce, and it tasted pretty good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very good. The best alternative time saving method for this dish I have seen. That fried egg sure brings back good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is a good jump-off point for enchiladas, but I prefer them with a lot more goodies inside (black beans, spinach instead of lettuce, etc. I layer tortillas, beans and raw onion, tortillas, chicken with spinach and sauce, tortillas, cheese and I actually do prefer them to bake in the oven until the cheese is all melty. The fried egg is a great idea. I skip the sour cream, because with all the cheese it just isn't needed. Serve it up with a side of Spanish rice. Lastly, I would much rather use Mrs. Espy's Enchilada Sauce recipe (found here on the allrecipes site) than use a canned one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peripheree
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This will be a confusing review and a bit unfair. I posted a picture of the enchiladas to this recipe using grizzlygirl711's review. Her recipe was DIVINE!!! Best I ever had. Use her recipe for the results posted on the photo. There was a bitterness issue the first day which I found disappointeing. However, I made up the recipe (thanks grizzlygirl711 and fellow PDXer) and added 1 can Hunt's tomato paste and some honey. Let it rest for a day and the bitterness completely disappeared! (I think letting it sit in the fridge was key a day or two). This review is a bit unfair to the original poster since I never made this recipe, but I urge you to try grizzlygirl711's version for enchiladas to die for. Thank you grizzlygirl! I used colby jack cheese. Grizzlygirl...please post recipes! Please! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Messy but tasty. Kid pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly.....the canned sauce is a bit bitter...next time I will make my own enchilada sauce and I think I will use shredded chicken instead of the chunks......Just made this recipe for the second time..I made home made sauce and I baked the chicken then shredded it...with these changes I would give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I'm from New Mexico and this recipe is not like any authentic New Mexico recipe I know of. Your red chile sauce should be made out of 16 dried red chile pods (minus seeds and ends) -- hydrated with water until plump (2-3 hrs)-use the water from hydration bowl (4 cups to 16 pods) and blended with 1/2 tsp cumin,1 Tbl sp flour,1 Tbl spn garlic, pinch of mexican oregano and salt to taste..then you would need to blend it in the blender for 5 minutes and use something to take the bitter chile peeling from the chile sauce - I use a flour sifter. Cook on stovetop with a little bit of lard or olive oil at medium heat until it thickens. That will be used for your red chile sauce instead of your chili powder or canned enchilada sauce.. good luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzlygirl711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States