Enchilada Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I made several adjustments/additions to this recipe as I am detailing in my review. First, it's June in N. Cali and too hot to use the stove, so I made this recipe in the slow cooker. I followed the recipe, incorporating the idea from others of mixing the refried beans into the meat mixture before using as filling. I also added sliced black olives to the mix. I sprayed the bottom and sides of the slow cooker with non stick spray and lined the bottom with about a 1/4 c of enchilada sauce. Also, in the meat mix, I only used about 2/3 of the can of enchilada sauce, as I wanted a thicker consistency in my mixture. I cooked the pasta as the directions on box said, 9 mins, and removed and let them cool. I then stuffed each shell with the mixture (I did 22 shells, this recipe calls for 15) and I still had about a cup of the meat mixture left, which I spooned over the shells when I was finished. I let the shells cook for two hours on high and then switched the slow cooker to low and sprinkled the cheese over, as well as a can of diced green chilis and finished cooking on low for a 1/2 hour, then switched the slow cooker to warm, for about another 15 mins, till the other dinner items were ready. I made some Spanish rice to go with as well as served with guacamole and sour cream. It was pretty good and a recipe I would make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Nice alternative to tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
These were very tasty. The whole family enjoyed it. My sauce was a little larger so I poured the extra on top of the shells before baking. I'm sure it helped not to dry them out. I will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Added corn to the meat and sauce mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The dish has gone through the largest test that I believe it has ever gone through. Being served at a fire station. Oh and it could not have been a bigger hit. I made it twice for one shift and the recipe is now posted on the fridge for all to see and make. I went in to visit one time and the shift that was on at the time was sitting down and what were they eating?? Enchilada shells. These things are the bomb and are officially fire department approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
There are excellent. You can't even tell there is turkey in them. I froze leftovers but they aren't as good one they are reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artbkward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Lafayette, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I added a can of corn and everyone loved it!!!! The recipe made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Family friendly! I did not take the time to 'stuff' the shells, just made some bow-tie pasta and mixed it all together. Hearty. Would use the filling again for tacos, burritos, etc. Something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Yum! If you want leftovers double the recipe. My family loved this. I didn't change a thing, other than omit the onions because of a family member who doesn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made this exactly as written, and it was a great meal for my family. Everyone enjoyed it, and it was easily and quickly prepared. A new twist on enchiladas....or a new twist on stuffed shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States