Enchilada Stack Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I did an ingredient search and came up with this recipe. I did however cook the ground beef on the stovetop and bake the casserole in a 350 degree oven. I really don't like cooking in a microwave. I added just a bit of corn and it was really good. This is a good, easy, quick weeknight dinner. I served with mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
4 stars because We tweeked it alot! WE used enchilada sauce in meat and on the tortilias, added bell peppers, bannana peppers,onion,garlic,cumin,turmeric,black pepper, and sea salt.Cooked meat on stovetop with veggies then baked it in oven at 325F for 20min(until golden) we topped it off with corn salsa. IT WAS EXELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I have been making these stacked enchiladas since I was a little girl in the 70's! Of course, I didn't learn to do them in the microwave back then, so I stick to the oven when cooking them. I believe I did tried them in the crock pot once, a little messy, but still good! No matter how you cook them, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This was great! Plenty for two servings and one lunch to take to work. I added some seasoning salt, and I ran out of cheddar, so I supplemented with jack cheese. I didn't realize it's a microwave recipe. I baked it for 20 minutes. My husband dabbed sour cream and salsa on the top, and if I'd had an avocado, I bet a few slices would have been good with it. This one goes in the permanent collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Followed recipe with the exception of cooking method. I did not use a microwave to cook the ingrediants, but chose to sautee things in a fry pan on the burner. Then I built the stack and baked in a covered dish for 45 minutes at 350. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
use red enchalada sauce in place of tomato sauce, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I give it five stars because it was fast, easy and good. I didn't have tomato sauce on hand, so I replaced it with tomato paste and salsa instead. This recipe will become a new staple for the nights I come in from work and I'm too tired to put tons of effort into a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Very good basic recipe. If you like things spicy you can easily spice it up like I did with jalapenos an enchilada sacce etc. Will definitely make this often. Even better leftover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KY_Hubers
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Made this recipe tonight, followed to the letter and it was delicious. Next we plan on addding some queso to the layers instead of the grated cheese and piling diced tomatoes on top. Try dipping it in sour cream, tasty addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KY_Hubers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was really good. Better than I had expected actually. I used Gebhardt Chili powder and I do think the brand and type used will make a difference in the way your filling tastes. I doubled it though since there was only a tiny bit left and I didn't want to put it back on the shelf. I doubled the garlic in the meat too and used dried minced onion and mexican tomato sauce which is seasoned a little. Del Fuerte brand is what we have available here. I used flour tortillas since I don't know how to make corn ones. My filling simmered on the stovetop while I made the tortillas for this. I used an American/Cheddar cheese blend since Cheddar tends to be really greasy when it melts down. Thanks, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States