Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We didn't have cumin or chili powder and used a modified amount of red pepper. Soooo delicious. now we have all the ingredients and can't wait to make it again. It is our go to sauce now. really yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Tried this for the first time tonight and it was very good. I did as one poster suggested and used beef broth along with the chicken broth. Also, using an immersion blender made the sauce lovely and smooth (after simmering for about 1/2 hour). Adding the juice of 1/2 lime (squeezed gently) and changing the chocolate to semi-sweet gave it a nice tang. Measuring isn't something I do and did not do so with this recipe. I just taste-tested along the way and it turned out wonderfully. It was a hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Pretty good, although I had to add more cornstarch so this wasn't completely runny. I tasted after simmering on the stove for 30-60 mins and I wasn't a huge fan of the taste so I added 2 tbsp. salsa and pureed it with a stick blender. So much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great , I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is my family's favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
So easy to make. Love it has real good favorite. Only thing I would do different l would do a little bit more with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I liked this recipe but it was not thick like the canned enchilada sauce. I only used a pinch of cayenne pepper as my kids would hate if if I added as much as suggested. I added some salt. My husband said he did not like the cinnamon. I think it was a nice tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Look no further! This is the recipe you are looking for. This sauce is rich and delicious. Followed the directions to a T and used it for shredded beef enchiladas. This may have been the most delicious dish I have ever made, and I cook A LOT (it could be bias due to extreme Mexican craving after moving to England where no Mexican restaurants are available :) ). The only negative is that it gave me some pretty hellacious heart burn, but that is probably my fault because I absolutely inhaled this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I've made this twice and I'm ready for a third time. I love the flavor! There was one adjustment because I like my sauces a little on the spicy side. I substituted 2 tablespoons of ground red pepper for some of the chili powder. I use this to top bean burritos, enchiladas, and scrambled eggs. Thank you for this recipe. Yes, I know this is similar to a mole' sauce (because of the chocolate) but it's what I like and isn't that what food is all about?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was OUT of the world! I made it to gone on enchiladas made with home made canned taco chicken, onion, cheese and flour tortillas. My husband was VERY sceptical at first, but finally agreed we should at least try it. He was nearlly sobbing with happiness when I served it and knocked the kids over to get seconds. Made exactly as recommended, tho I did cook it much longer then 30 mins to reduce it to a consistancy I liked. (I wanted it a bit thicker.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States