Empty Wallet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
After tasting it in my head, I didn't like the idea of cumin, poultry seasoning and thyme. So I used cumin, chili powder and oregano. I also added a layer of grated cheddar cheese between and on top of the layers of potatoes. To keep with the southwest flavors I seemed to be building, I added a can of diced green chiles to the cream of chicken soup. This was a great budget meal and we liked it quite a bit. Thanks Jeslynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Empty wallet indeed! LOL I only had ONE potato and one can sliced potatos so that's what I used. Topped with Ritz crackers. Very good for a simple dish. Picky hubby polished it off. Right up his alley.. meat & taters. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
My husband actually said he would rate this 1 1/2 stars, but I was a bit more forgiving. There is way too much poultry seasoning. I think I would cut it in half. I love the basic idea of the recipe though. Next time I will probably add soem parmesan cheese in the middle and instead of saltine crackers, I will use ritz. But the cooking time was excellent and I personally thought the overall taste wasn't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was great for that day before payday meal. And you really can change it up according to what you have on hand. Las time I made it I had no potatoes and used pasta. It was still tasty . Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Great recipe!!! Easy to substitute ingredients. Instead of crackers use cheez-its. It's super yummy and easy clean-up. (add some melted cheese during browning time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I love this as a "base recipe" - if you use your imagination, and whatever happens to be in the cupboard, the possibilities are endless. I added a serrano pepper (seeds and all) to the sauteeing onions, along with garlic and more spices. I only used 1 can of soup but next time I'll use 2. My family loved it and there was just a small bit leftover (and it made an excellent breakfast!). Also, be sure to spice up your ground beef as you brown it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I didn't use the mushrooms since my husband doesn't like. Also didn't cook the onions before baking. The poultry seasoning was a bit much & too overpowering. The paprika I would have left off also. Not bad, but not a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this was simple and good! it was a great change to all of the holiday food we've been eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I cooked this recipe exactly how it was written. It had a great smell, but I did not like the taste. I did not care for this at all; however my husband tolerated it. The leftovers were still in the fridge 4 days later, which is highly abnormal for this household. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This was just about the most flavorful casserole recipe I've made. Everyone wanted seconds. My 2 year old granddaughter kept saying "mmmm good".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States