Empire Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Nice simple recipe. However, as a native Jock here in the US, the best tip to make these biscuits even more endulgent and melt on the tongue - substitute one cup of flour for one cup of birds custard powder. You will get a richer golden colour, deeper crumble and crunch in the texture, and a toasted baked note to finish. My Gran's traditional recipe from Glasgow. try it and you won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was a fabulous recipe! I made 96 for an international night at school and they were the first to go. It took a while, but it was worth it. I loved how easy it was to work with the dough. The cookies didn't burn in the oven or break when I spread on the jam. Strawberry jam worked just fine. It was a fairly simple recipe, too. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
Kids really loved these cookies. Found that they took quite along time to make but well worth the time......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
My grandmother, who is Scottish, made these cookies with us when we were little. She did not put cherries on them, but instead cut smaller holes in half of the cookies that were going on top. This isn't quite the same as the traditional empire biscuits we grew up on but very nice none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
These cookies are wonderful! I found the dough to be a little sticky to roll out, but otherwise this was a very easy recipe, and the results are very impressive. I made them to add to a wedding cookie table, and got many compliments on how delicious they were and how pretty they looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Awsome recipe! exactly right! i advise you get a hand blender - the first time I tried it i used a spoon to mix and had the hardest time getting it to stick together - added water - bad idea, made the cookie a touch heavier than the light amaizing cookie i got with the use of a hand blender. I've used all kinds of filling, different jams, honey, nutella - thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I agree with an earlier reviewer that it's better to substitute 1 cup of flour with 1 cup Bird's custard powder. Also, boil the jam before you spread it (spread while it's still hot). This will stick the biscuits together better, concentrate the taste, and give a chewier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Marcie, thanks for this recipe! I will be using this recipe for Christmas and any occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My grandmother is from Scotland and use to make these all the time. These came out just like her old recipe. It's a tough batter to work with (gets really sticky) but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I was very excited when I found this recipe because I have very fond memories of Christmases past, making myself sick eating dozens of my grandmother's empire biscuits. However, when I made this recipe, I discovered that this recipe makes good sugar cookies, but they are not shortbread. This may be a different version of Empire Biscuits than the one I grew up with, but be warned - they are not shortbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States