Empire Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Made these for my Culture Feast project at school. Many people wanted seconds. I'm only 13 and I made these without any help, quick------easy--------DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NightLad
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe that makes use of real shortbread without overcomplicating itself and getting all pretentious. Just like grandma used to make! The instructions were quite easy to follow along with and the cookies turned out just perfect; nice and light with a smooth, rich taste. As an added treat I was able to use my mother's homemade raspberry jam made from berries she grew in her backyard. Yum! My only pause for concern was the amount of confectioners' sugar called for; I found that I only needed about 2-2½ cups and I had plenty of icing left over. This is a fantastic recipe and if you have kids I’m sure they will love helping you use the cookie-cutter and licking the beaters. The kids can shape their own cookies with leftover batter, too! By following this recipe I made 2 dozen completed cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightLad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Excellent!! Need to make them small, very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Nice simple recipe. However, as a native Jock here in the US, the best tip to make these biscuits even more endulgent and melt on the tongue - substitute one cup of flour for one cup of birds custard powder. You will get a richer golden colour, deeper crumble and crunch in the texture, and a toasted baked note to finish. My Gran's traditional recipe from Glasgow. try it and you won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
DELICIOUS! I made these exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Just be aware that the icing recipe makes a lot of icing...I think you need less thank half of what is written, you can always make more icing if you need it :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I only make these at Christmas, in part because they're a little fussy to make but mostly because they are the most incredibly delicious cookies ever and I could eat 10 at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Fun to make and cute to look at :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I was so happy to find this recipe. It is a little time-consuming but the results are well worth it! It's a tradition to make them at Christmas but I do get requests for these biscuits throughout the year. They do make an impression on people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was a fabulous recipe! I made 96 for an international night at school and they were the first to go. It took a while, but it was worth it. I loved how easy it was to work with the dough. The cookies didn't burn in the oven or break when I spread on the jam. Strawberry jam worked just fine. It was a fairly simple recipe, too. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Absolutely delicious! The cookies just melt in your mouth. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILuv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States