Empire Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe turned out excellent. I halved the recipe as it was my first try at it but I will make the larger amount next time. I took the advice about cooking the jam a bit and had not trouble with the cookies sticking together. I will try it with the Birds Custard Powder next time. Definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anet54
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Easy, easy recipe and when finished looks so professional people will think you really slaved over these. The cookies are to die for. Exactly what I want when I crave a cookie. The only change I made in the recipe: I added almond extract to the icing. Made all the difference in the world. TIP: Use parchment paper when baking. They'll come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I've been looking for this recipe for so long! Used to dance at a Scottish restaurant in the 60s and we'd always buy a couple of these cookies there. But I was looking for Empire Cakes, not biscuits and could never find them until I put in 'Scottish cookies'. Thank you, I shall make them very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ActingLikeAChef
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I was looking for a traditional Scottish cookie and stumbled upon this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ActingLikeAChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is the first time I've made a cookie like this and they came out GREAT! The basic biscuit itself is good even without the filling and icing. Of course being in a hurry, I didn't follow the directions exactly. I melted the butter instead of softening it and used my mixer to beat in the flour, so ended up with a fluffy mix that was IMPOSSIBLE to roll out. I put the mix in the fridge overnight and made them the next day. I did make a few changes....used a turbinado sugar instead of white and made the icing using vanilla soy milk. If you use a raw sugar like I did, add a little more than the recipe calls for and I used MUCH less confectioners sugar for the icing. It probably took Julia Child 20 minutes to whip up several dozen of these...I took me much longer but were well worth the time spent. They were a HUGE hit at my job and I have made more as hostess gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This was definitely one of the most fun "recipes from home" that I've made with my little girl. On the one hand, they were rather a lot of work, it was frustrating how easily they broke when lifting them off the cookie sheet, and I made them WAY too big, but Lily had a ball sandwiching them together, drizzling them with icing, and adding the cherry! Only change I made was to use 3c a.p. flour and 1c of Bird's custard powder as another reviewer suggested. Not sure I'll make them again, but we had a blast putting them together. Thanks so much, Marcie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I agree with an earlier reviewer that it's better to substitute 1 cup of flour with 1 cup Bird's custard powder. Also, boil the jam before you spread it (spread while it's still hot). This will stick the biscuits together better, concentrate the taste, and give a chewier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These cookies are wonderful! I didn't change a thing. They were a big hit at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Beth40 ,, these are BISCUITS not cookies ,,, we don't have " cookies " in Scotland ( just kidding ). Yes they are just delicious and I have made them by substituting a cup of Bird's custard powder for a cup of flour, an added delicious touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
it was a good recipe...the 8 cups of confectioners sugar was way too much. This is a butter and sugar high recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weegit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States