Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MsB
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
My favorite empanada recipe! Everyone LOVES these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I've never made empanadas before but, always wanting to try new recipes, I was excited to try this for a luncheon I hosted. The hardest part of this whole dish is to make sure you get a good seal all the way around the empanada. That and deciding which preserves to use for the filling. I chose to make some with Oregon Marion Berry Seedless Preserves and some with Apricot Preserves. Being a fragile dough, I found it easiest to place the cooked empanada on a bed of cinnamon sugar and then spoon additional sugar over top until coated. I served them with a dollop of Greek Goddess Honey Vanilla Greek Yogurt on top. They were a seriously big hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Just made these. I'm having a themed dinner party on Friday and thought these looked good. I made some apple and some strawberry jam ones - they are both fantastic, so recommend them,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah A
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was the easiest ever! That hardest part was making them evenly shaped. The dough came out flakey and wonderful. I used apricot filling and pumpkin filling. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I have made these many times and loved the recipe.I did find empanada dough cut and ready to use at our mexican grocery store in frozen foods.They are excellent and cheap!However,they are often out of them so I use this recipe and make my own.Yes,this is good as a pie crust as well.I find these easy to make not difficult at all if using enough flour and dough is properly chilled.I make savory and sweet with them.I thank you for a quality recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nesbitt929

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Turned out great! I will do things a little different next time however. Next time I will double the apple part of the recipe cause it just wasn't enough. I could only make 6 and the filling was hardly enough for those. Next time I will also try to use chocolate pudding inside too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Flietner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
The recipe was okay i guess, but when i baked it and let it cool. the whole thing was braking apart. IT was a whole mess and when baking it the fruit preserves were spilling out. Its okay if i wanted to make a crumble cake, but I am not a fan of this recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I used this at a culture fair bake sale in my high school. It took a lot of time for us to make but it was definitely worth it in the end. I would recommend using battered egg yolk instead of water to seal the edges. Also I would use a larger cookie cutter to try and keep the fruit from leaking. It doesn't make quite as much as it say it will either but it's definitely an all around favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. I just served it to my extended family for dessert on Mothers Day and everyone liked it. I didn't have the ingredients on hand to make the pastry the day/night prior so let it set up in the fridge for about 4-5 hours then used it immediately after removing from the fridge. It seemed to work out fine, but I'd make sure to allow for extra chilling time if I expected warmer weather. I used peach jam and sprinkled the empanadas with the cinnamon-sugar mix before baking instead of rolling tm after baking. This keeps the final product from being too sweet. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States