Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I have made these many times and loved the recipe.I did find empanada dough cut and ready to use at our mexican grocery store in frozen foods.They are excellent and cheap!However,they are often out of them so I use this recipe and make my own.To the reviewer that said they don't have cream cheese in 3 oz. they are wrong.I buy it all the time.Someone said these are too flaky.Really?Isn't that what you want?Flaky is a good thing.Yes,this is good as a pie crust as well.I find these easy to make not difficult at all if using enough flour and dough is properly chilled.I make savory and sweet with them.I thank you for a quality recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nesbitt929

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Turned out great! I will do things a little different next time however. Next time I will double the apple part of the recipe cause it just wasn't enough. I could only make 6 and the filling was hardly enough for those. Next time I will also try to use chocolate pudding inside too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Flietner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
The recipe was okay i guess, but when i baked it and let it cool. the whole thing was braking apart. IT was a whole mess and when baking it the fruit preserves were spilling out. Its okay if i wanted to make a crumble cake, but I am not a fan of this recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I used this at a culture fair bake sale in my high school. It took a lot of time for us to make but it was definitely worth it in the end. I would recommend using battered egg yolk instead of water to seal the edges. Also I would use a larger cookie cutter to try and keep the fruit from leaking. It doesn't make quite as much as it say it will either but it's definitely an all around favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. I just served it to my extended family for dessert on Mothers Day and everyone liked it. I didn't have the ingredients on hand to make the pastry the day/night prior so let it set up in the fridge for about 4-5 hours then used it immediately after removing from the fridge. It seemed to work out fine, but I'd make sure to allow for extra chilling time if I expected warmer weather. I used peach jam and sprinkled the empanadas with the cinnamon-sugar mix before baking instead of rolling tm after baking. This keeps the final product from being too sweet. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison Kanous
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
1st time making Empanadas! I was not sure about the dough, reminded me of play-dough and very granular until I mushed it all together, and had to let it sit out a while longer so it was soft enough to roll out the next day. I had to leave it in the oven for 25 min and also the cinnamon/sugar wouldn't stick to the fresh-out-the-oven empanadas so I ended up coating them with butter and dropping them in that way. For the filling I just bough some apple pie filling and processed it in my blender, worked great. Overall they're a big hit, might try a different dough recipe next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Kanous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Good recipe. The only thing I think would make the recipe easier would be to toss the empanadas in cinnamon and sugar before baking because it doesn't want to stick very well to the cooked dough, and I like them COATED! For filling I cooked down some finely chopped apples with some sugar, cinnamon and a teeny sprinkle of nutmeg and clove. I also made a caramel sauce to dip them in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Amazing recipie the dough is best to work with if cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by der smalls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The dough turned out too thick and gooey. But the turnout was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Nice flaky crust. I made the fruit preserves and also mexican empandas. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States