Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
The recipe was okay i guess, but when i baked it and let it cool. the whole thing was braking apart. IT was a whole mess and when baking it the fruit preserves were spilling out. Its okay if i wanted to make a crumble cake, but I am not a fan of this recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I used this at a culture fair bake sale in my high school. It took a lot of time for us to make but it was definitely worth it in the end. I would recommend using battered egg yolk instead of water to seal the edges. Also I would use a larger cookie cutter to try and keep the fruit from leaking. It doesn't make quite as much as it say it will either but it's definitely an all around favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Thank you for this recipe. I just served it to my extended family for dessert on Mothers Day and everyone liked it. I didn't have the ingredients on hand to make the pastry the day/night prior so let it set up in the fridge for about 4-5 hours then used it immediately after removing from the fridge. It seemed to work out fine, but I'd make sure to allow for extra chilling time if I expected warmer weather. I used peach jam and sprinkled the empanadas with the cinnamon-sugar mix before baking instead of rolling tm after baking. This keeps the final product from being too sweet. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginger
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
1st time making Empanadas! I was not sure about the dough, reminded me of play-dough and very granular until I mushed it all together, and had to let it sit out a while longer so it was soft enough to roll out the next day. I had to leave it in the oven for 25 min and also the cinnamon/sugar wouldn't stick to the fresh-out-the-oven empanadas so I ended up coating them with butter and dropping them in that way. For the filling I just bough some apple pie filling and processed it in my blender, worked great. Overall they're a big hit, might try a different dough recipe next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Good recipe. The only thing I think would make the recipe easier would be to toss the empanadas in cinnamon and sugar before baking because it doesn't want to stick very well to the cooked dough, and I like them COATED! For filling I cooked down some finely chopped apples with some sugar, cinnamon and a teeny sprinkle of nutmeg and clove. I also made a caramel sauce to dip them in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Amazing recipie the dough is best to work with if cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The dough turned out too thick and gooey. But the turnout was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Nice flaky crust. I made the fruit preserves and also mexican empandas. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Just made these for the kiddos. I rolled the dough out inbetween 2 sheets of waxed paper without any difficulty. I used the Pampered Chef sandwich sealer and baked them on my silpat. They literally slipped right off the mat and the mat wiped clean without any effort. Because 3 oz. packages of cream cheese do not exist, I read many reviews before making these to see what others did. In the end I used the entire 8 oz. brick of cream cheese, 1/4 cup of butter and 2 cups of flour. I think the dough could use some flavoring, maybe cinnamon. I found the dough tasteless and the kids did not like them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Yum! I refrigerated the dough overnight, so it was very hard when I took it out, but once it sat on the counter for about 30 minutes, it rolled out very easily. I would like the dough to be a bit sweeter, but with the cinnamon/sugar it was fine. I made 3 different kind using canned apple pie filling, canned strawberry pie filling and chocolate chips. I liked the apple best, but my kids liked the chocolate. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States