Empanadas II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Very bland, needs some kind of meat and cheese added to filling, as well as some spices or seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I used pizza dough that needed to be used up. The hard boiled eggs were a great idea. I ate this for a quick breakfast. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I didn't use the raisins or potatoes, but added more eggs (8 total!) and taco seasoning, but wished I had more green olives. The olives really add a delicious flavor to these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Turner, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I took out the olives (my dad isn't a fan of them) and added jalapenos, ground beef, and taco seasoning. I still found the recipe a little bland, but really you can add anything to empanadas, so next time I'll just add more flavorful ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
this was too blah. my mother in law taught me how to make these and you can get creative. anything can go in them, beef,cheese, fruit I have done taco flavored beef and yellow rice, beef and mashed patatoes, my family always want cheese in them. also you can find premade shells (goya) in the frozen section for about 1.50 for 10 shells also i fry mine for low fat you can bake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
These were my first attempt at empanadas, and I was a little dissapointed. They were bland, and I wish I had added cheese and jalapenos, or chiles like the other reviews suggested. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I agree that this recipe was very bland. I, too, served it with homemade salsa. I took these to a party along with chicken empanadas; the only who ate them was the vegetarian. They definitely need cheese ... maybe, jalepano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
This recipe was extremely easy and really tasty. The filling was just a little bland for my taste, so I added jalapenos and a little more seasoning. I served the empanadas to my family with a side of beans, salsa, and Mexican cheese--it was a huge success and everyone's fighting over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States