Empanadas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2000
Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I loved the empanadas but I like the empanadas that my mother makes better. You can also just have cheese for the filling. It tastes soo good that I just had to tell you all. Your Friend, Francisca A.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
These rolled out really well, I thought it was to wet at first, but it was all ok after I started rolling with flour. Everyone at work liked them, we used them for a cooking project for the disabaled and if they can do it which they did I can get my kids to roll them too. GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
FANTASTIC!!!! My boyfriend is from South America and he was so excited when I made these for him. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I used this recipe for a Mexican dinner party, and they turned out great. Everyone enjoyed them! I had some trouble with the dough and actually had to make two batches of dough to use up most of the apple filling (this made enough empanadas for 10 people). Also I thought this was a rather easy recipe for such a delicious treat! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
It is real easy if you find out that you can use PITAS'!!! And if you do you can just half them & put in the filling of your choise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I am rating the pastry only, because I made up my own filling. The pastry is very light, and very flaky. Mine didn't brown that well (maybe needs an egg wash?) but tasted fantastic nonetheless. I kept thinking "this would make a great pie crust!" Here's what I filled with: 1/2 lb. Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage, 1 lb. ground beef, 1 boiled yellow bell pepper choppped(left over from stuffed pepper recipe), 1/2 vidalia onion chopped, 2 cloves garlic minced, 1 can diced tomatoes w/lime and cilantro, 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp coriander, salt and pepper to taste. I had twice as much filling as I needed, so I froze the rest. Hubby and son LOVED it. Yay! My first empanadas! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
We loved this. Instead of adding meat, all I had on hand was ham lunch meat so I put just a little tomato sauce, sauted onions, and grated cheese. I sprinkled in a little lemon pepper, garlic powder and paprika. I made an egg wash for the pastry. I'm thinking this would be a great way to use up leftovers as filling, such as meatloaf, stew, stir fry. We'll be fixing these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
i made this with everything but the meat (both the apple filling and the tomato paste/onion/pepper filling together. it was a huge hit at the potluck i took it to and i've since made it again. DELICIOUS! (i did make the dough 1/2 whole wheat and rolled it out in cornmeal--worked great!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Very good!!! Especially the apple variety. You could substitute any meat for the steak and perhaps add more spices to taste. Go wild...be creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIRE27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States