Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
too salty. try 1/2 powder stuff. also put some raisens in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Flavor was great but yield was off. Only 10 empanadas with a 1/2 lb of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
So easy, and delicious!!! Can't wait to make thee again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Essex, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I wish I could give these more stars, because I absolutely would! I have never made anything like this before, but it intrigued me, so I took a chance and gave it a try...I am so glad that I did (and so is hubby and the little guy, lol). These were absolutely FANTASTIC and so simple to make! The only Goya products I used were the Discos (I could only find the achiote ones, which I was unsure of, but they were great), the Sofrito and the Sazon. I fried these up in my deep fryer, and they cooked up perfectly. I really cannot believe how good these were and how big of a hit they were with my family. I got 8, and I froze the leftovers (already cooked) for another time, so we'll see how that goes. I will definately make these again, anytime~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good, my entire family loved it. if the oil is hot enough it does not take a very long time for the empanadas to brown, maybe 2 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These were great, and so easy! THe only thing that I wish I had done differently was melted a little cheese on top and/or had some kind of dipping sauce - sour cream or something. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Wow, just like mom's! These really are fabulous. If made true to the recipe, they are wonderful. My mother always added a couple of small dashes of cinnamon, yes, cinnamon, to the picadillo (which I, of course, had to do), and it makes such a lovely addition. Either way, though I do recommend trying a dash or two of cinnamon, these are a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Excellent. I used the biscuit dough that comes in the cylinders in the dairy section (next to the cheese and butter) because I wanted flaky empanadas. I baked them and they tasted soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Illegally Downloading Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westphalia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe is on point. I'm not one to measure ingredients, I normally eye-ball it, but this recipe is easy and delicious!!!!! The time consuming part is letting the pastry dough completely thaw out. One thing I would add is to add some cheese (cheddar or mozzarella) then your adding the beef to the center of the empanada. It gives it just the right amount of umpf'! lol ... Oh yeah, If you don't have oregeno, using regular bottle of italian seasoning works just as well.... Happy eating and thanks for posting this recipe on here... I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States