Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was absolutely amazing!!! I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
i used pie crust because i could not find the discos. I will definately not do that again!!! The filling was o.k. The next time i know what to tweak according to our taste. Good base recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I made it for my grandmas bday dinner served it with some rice, and shredded cabbage.. with sour cream and cotija cheese and a salsa. I had to run back to the store to get more goya discs. I plan on making this for a potluck at work. AMAZING must try recipe. I didnt use the sofrito since they stores did have any in stock.. so i just chopped up some fresh tomatoes, cilantro and added it to the beef mixture. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Udave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my first attempt at making empanadas, they turned out great. Loved this filling, and assembling was fun and easy, just don't be in a rush when you prepare this recipe! I baked these at 400* for 30 minutes, just a bit too crunchy, I'll lower the heat to 375* next time and bake only 25 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Goya! Love your products and your recipes are always spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Best empanadas by far! I love making these and everyone is happy whenever they come over and see them as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This five star rating is for the meat mixture. The frozen Goya discos, sadly, were not to be found in our area. I wanted to try the meat mixture first before ambitiously tackling the pastry aspect, so I used the meat mixture in enchiladas. The sofrito and sazon were also not to be found but was able to get them from Amazon with free shipping and I'm glad I did. Next time I'll tackle the pastry part with alternate helpful suggestions from other reviewers. Now I'm inspired to try other recipes using sazon and sofrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
OMG ... my new favorite! Out of necessity (not rebellion), I had to change a couple things. First of all, I double the recipe because I have a big family. Next, I only had ground turkey meat (20 oz) so I used that instead of the ground beef. Next I couldn't find the Goya Discos to save my life so I finally settled for pie crust sheets. So because of that I baked these at 425 degrees F for about 20-30 minutes. The whole batch made 20 medium turnorvers. I served these with the Mango Salsa (also on this site) and my family went nuts over these and dovoured almost the whole batch. I kept eating the filling ... so savory and flavorful. I did season the meat with garlic salt and pepper and also added a bit more sofrito, but other than that I followed the measurements (doubling of course) and this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for this. My mom was Puerto Rican from Hawaii and she used to make these all the time but she died with the recipe. It brought back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Made these last night and it was my first time to make empanadas. They turned out awesome!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! My family loved them! I chose to make my own dough, since my grocery store did not carry the frozen Goya kind. That wasn't too hard at all, and there are many to choose from online. Fantastic recipe and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Really great recipe. I thought it was missing a little heat so I added cayenne pepper and a few splashes of balsamic vinegar. I also used refrigerated pie crust with a 4-in cookie cutter. The crust was flaky and the filling was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States