Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm new at making empanadas but love this recipe. How could you go wrong with Goya. I used the discos, sofrito, sazon and the tomato sauce. Their products are very well made and not salty. This was an excellent recipe and very easy to follow. Everything was perfect for a Sunday football afternoon dinner. I made the empanadas along with the Goya rice with black beans mix and Progresso cheesy enchilada soup. I also served nacho chips with salsa and chipotle baha dip with two different types of mexican beer. It was a fun, delicious meal on a very cold day. My family loved it. The only thing I might change would be to use the smaller discos. I used the larger ones and we cut them in half as they were easier to eat. I doubled the recipe and made a big batch and unfortunately I only have three leftover. The next time I will definitely make more to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I'd have to say these are better than the ones I get at the local Spanish market... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My go to!! Love the recipe,,made it a zillon times! Usually I increase the heat w cayenne,,,it's just delish !! And they freeze great as well! Bravo Goya!!! It's my baseline for "taste"! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmacsaunders
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe basically to give the empanada dough a try. I did not add alot of the seasoning because it was just too much salt. I used the Adobo only and I BAKED them instead of submerging them in all that oil. They were crispy with just a swipe of olive oil and were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed these. I omitted the olive oil (as someone else said, the beef makes plenty), I drained that off the meat after it was cooked and before adding the onions (the recipe didn't say to but I couldn't see myself cooking with that still in there) and I omitted the olives as none of us eat them. They had a great flavor but it was missing something. Next time I'll add some cayenne pepper and cheddar cheese. Also, we couldn't find the discos anywhere around here. I used pie crust dough instead, which made them flaky and delicious. Thanks for a keeper, Goya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Amazing! I made these for lunch today! Wow! I added some golden raisins, a touch of Cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. My husband raved about these all day! I will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I omitted the olives since I didn't want all the salt. I minced the onion really fine since I was feeding a couple of guys who will freak out if they see an onion! I couldn't help but add a little white cheese (I used monterey jack) If I make it again, I will add the olives and keep the onion in larger chunks for me because I think the texture would be better if prepared as the recipe is originally written. I loved the addition of the shredded cheese though. As for the Discos, I couldn't find them at the grocer so used regular pastry dough that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
These are always a hit when I make these for my husband! i do leave out the pimientos just by preference and sometimes when im n the mood ill make my own dough lol..but not to often these are Delicious! I will continue to make these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Why bother using olive oil when the hamburger creates enough oils to soften the onion? I don't add olives because we don't care for them but followed the directions exactly otherwise and it makes great empanadas. I also use lard for frying since it has the best flavor and doesnt burn as easily as corn or vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States