Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
These were very good. I followed the recipe exactly as it's written, and I was not disappointed. The only reason that I'm giving this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 is that the recipe takes so long to make. Maybe I'm just a slow cook, but I felt like these took forever to finish. It's also not the type of meal that you can walk away from at any point during the process, so you really can expect to be cooking for at least an hour and a half....not to mention clean up time. They were really fun to make, but they aren't an ideal meal for someone with a busy schedule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Rollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
OMG!!!!! Unbelievable flavor! Definitely making these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Wasn't able to find all the ingredients but with a little tweaking was able to use pie crust to make two large Empanadas. Thoroughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauriSuchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These were so good!!! So going to make them again but I want to try and use chicken :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This recipe is actually good. I used Goya Ground Beef and Goya Yellow Onion instead, and it perfectly works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm new at making empanadas but love this recipe. How could you go wrong with Goya. I used the discos, sofrito, sazon and the tomato sauce. Their products are very well made and not salty. This was an excellent recipe and very easy to follow. Everything was perfect for a Sunday football afternoon dinner. I made the empanadas along with the Goya rice with black beans mix and Progresso cheesy enchilada soup. I also served nacho chips with salsa and chipotle baha dip with two different types of mexican beer. It was a fun, delicious meal on a very cold day. My family loved it. The only thing I might change would be to use the smaller discos. I used the larger ones and we cut them in half as they were easier to eat. I doubled the recipe and made a big batch and unfortunately I only have three leftover. The next time I will definitely make more to freeze for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I'd have to say these are better than the ones I get at the local Spanish market... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
My go to!! Love the recipe,,made it a zillon times! Usually I increase the heat w cayenne,,,it's just delish !! And they freeze great as well! Bravo Goya!!! It's my baseline for "taste"! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmacsaunders
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe basically to give the empanada dough a try. I did not add alot of the seasoning because it was just too much salt. I used the Adobo only and I BAKED them instead of submerging them in all that oil. They were crispy with just a swipe of olive oil and were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed these. I omitted the olive oil (as someone else said, the beef makes plenty), I drained that off the meat after it was cooked and before adding the onions (the recipe didn't say to but I couldn't see myself cooking with that still in there) and I omitted the olives as none of us eat them. They had a great flavor but it was missing something. Next time I'll add some cayenne pepper and cheddar cheese. Also, we couldn't find the discos anywhere around here. I used pie crust dough instead, which made them flaky and delicious. Thanks for a keeper, Goya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States